Archive | 8:53 pm

Playground games

21 Apr

Thanks for the comments on yesterday’s post. I headed to bed just after 10 and fell into a deep sleep 🙂 I woke up around 5am and just dozed till 7. Today has been much brighter and I had a great day with the kids, we did some PE outside in the sun aswell as singing; 2 of my favourite things! I did mention that I love my job right? Well I love the working with kids part!

Breakfast

50g Muesli with skimmed milk

unpictured coffee 🙂

Morning Break

Bear fruit snacks- Cherry Berry

I really liked these and gave a couple to some kids who were staying in to finish homework and they gave them the thumbs up too!

Lunch

The juice is Robinsons diluting juice, I’ve been a little dehydrated and sometimes I really struggle to make myself drink- Robinsons helps.

Afternoon Snack

There is a banana in that banana guard.

I got home form work just after 5 and just felt like crashing out for a while so that’s what I did, when I woke up after 6 I was hungry and wanted something quick. I went to tesco yesterday and they were seriously lacking in veg, I had wanted to get stir-fry veggies but they were all out. This is why I usually go on a Monday morning. I’ll have to go again tomorrow. So anyway I ate 2 carrots while making banana porridge. I know, I know.

In the mix:

1 ripe banana,

1/2 cup oats,

1/2 cup skimmed milk,

1/2 cup water

Toppings:

sprinkling of grape nuts,

dried cranberries,

dark choc chips,

and some of these:

Bear cocoa cherry pie granola nibbles. 99 cals and almost 4g of protein per bag. Not too shabby. These are my favourite Bear product so far, they tasted really chocolatey without the accompanying sugar spike.

I’m going to go and get some fruit for dessert now 🙂 I really need to try and get my eating back on track tomorrow!

Gym

I mentioned yesterday that I had an appointment at the gym. I was meeting one of the trainers to go over the weights, take my stats and write out a program for me. It was free as part of my membership and I found it really useful.

I have never been a person who is ashamed of my weight or my measurements. But! When I had my bodyfat measured yesterday I could have cried. It was 40.6%. How is that even possible? I don’t know where it is all hiding because I swear I don’t think I look that big. Fiona (the trainer) did say that if I am dehydrated I’ll get a higher than normal reading. I’m hoping that was the case! The breath and blood pressure tests both resulted in pretty perfect scores and the hip/waist ratio was also perfect. Thank goodness for massive hips eh? I’ll get my bodyfat measured again in 4 weeks, around the 18th of May.

Fiona then took me into the main part of the gym to go over the big scary machines that I’ve been looking at and not touching for months. She gave me an upper body and a lower body program and I said I would keep doing the core work at home (hate doing crunches in front of folk). My abs are killing after the pilates core work of yesterday btw!

Playground chat

The PE I did today was with P2/3 (6 and 7 year olds) and we played playground games. In Scotland children get at least 15 minutes of PE every day, and full lessons once or twice a week. We played a game we call ‘port/starboard’, ‘follow my leader’ and various chasing games. What games did you play in the school playground when you were that age? I loved ‘Mother may I?’, ‘White horse’ and general skipping. Ooh and ‘What’s the time Mr Wolf!’