Archive | 4:50 pm

Raisin Oatmeal Cookies

9 Apr

9pm snack last night was this:

chocolate cadbury dairy milk

It was really yum but totally left me wanting more. It was the last piece of chocolate from the egg I got at the weekend so I don’t have any more milk chocolate in the house. I really didn’t like the feeling after I’d finished it, it was like I was really craving more sugar. I resisted but it wasn’t comfortable.

Thanks for your comments on how you take your coffee yesterday. I decided to try mine with half a teaspoon of agave this morning.

I don’t think half a teaspoon was enough. If I wasn’t lazy by nature I may have gone back to the kitchen and put more in. I am lazy so I drank some of it and then abandoned it!

Mmm grape nuts as a topper is my favourite I think. I love the crunch 🙂

This morning I went to the pool with my friend, her baby and her niece. The baby is 9 weeks and was chittering away in the water but seemed to enjoy it. The niece is 4 and loved it- we had a great time playing. I did manage to get shampoo in her eyes in the shower after- oops!

We all then went to the cafe and had coffee, I had a mocha. It was the first mocha I’ve had there and it was yum. I can sense a new obsession :s I also had 2 hobnob biscuits.

This afternoon I spent time with my kitchen. I am thinking about going to Glasgow to stay with a friend for a few days, leaving tomorrow. So I decided to use up my sweet potato stash and make gnochi for the freezer. While the potatos were baking I decided to make some cookies. I had the ipod on the dock the whole time and listened to Paul Simon, The Kinks and some Bangles. Good times!

Oatmeal cookies 

The spirally things are attached to my mixer, I got it for £5 from tesco a few weeks ago. It’s pretty awesome, especially as stirring things hurts my shoulder.

Lots of lovely oats. The recipe didn’t call for cinnamon but I threw a teaspoon in, I do think it made them extra delicious.

The recipe said add what you like in terms of nuts/dried fruit so I added a handful and a half of raisins (ish). When given the chance I don’t measure things, I just toss them in. Sorry!

A heaped teaspoon of mix per cookie, no need to flatten as they spread themselves in the oven. This is only one batch.

They were really soft at this point so I had to move them pretty carefully. This is still only half the batch! I should have halved the recipe.

Still half the batch! 2 of these are around 170 calories. I ate 2 after my lunch.

Lunch:

I went and got 2 more slices after I ate these 2. The bread was really small!

This is now ALL the cookies! I’m going to take some to Glasgow with me but I’m also going to drop half off at my Mum’s before I go.

As I am not eating any of the gnochi today I am going to save most of the photos for another day, but just to show how much cleaning up I had to do- here is one pic.

baking mess kitchen

You will just have to imagine the state of the floor! I am telling you, these little babies had better be bloody delicious as they took an age and a half to make, and an age and a quarter to clean up after.

I am totally clueless about dinner at the minute. I’ve been invited for a pub dinner but not sure if I want to go, or whether I’ll have more stir-fry and pack for tomorrow. I shall let you know what was decided in the morning 🙂

Happy Weekend!