Car Snacks

19 Sep

As I’ve been driving the 260 mile round-trip to the city quite a bit this past month and it looks set to continue through to the end of October, with one thing and another, I thought I’d share my favourite car snack of the moment.

DSCN3273

DSCN3275

Goldfish crackers! I love them, they’re not considered a health food but I think they’re better than crisps. I tend to get carsick and crave salty carbs to settle my stomach (even when I’m driving) so these fit the bill.

Anyone remember the Friends episode where Chandler’s nutty room-mate puts a goldfish cracker in the tank and calls in Chandler? Classic t.v.!

I got back from the city on Wednesday but had an application form to write and then was teaching on Thursday and Friday so didn’t have time to catch up on blogs. I am attempting to do that today. Bear with me! Here are some pictures of what the last week has looked like for me:

DSCN3304

Kelvingrove Museum in Glasgow on Tuesday.

DSCN3311

Teaching on Thursday and Friday

DSCN3310

This tree really got me into the spirit of Autumn!

DSCN3314

Dinner at my parents on Friday. My Mum, who has seen me taking photos of my food before and knows why I do it, called me OCD when I took this picture. Thanks Mum.

DSCN3315

Finishing my book (loved it- have you read it?) and eating sweets on Saturday. I loved these sweets and will review the range soon.

How was your week? What was the highlight? I think the highlight of mine was teaching Primary 2 on Thursday- I adore teaching the little ones! At one point we were learning about emotions and were jumping around acting surprised and I couldn’t help laughing at the ‘Home Alone’ expressions on their faces!

18 Responses to “Car Snacks”

  1. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear September 19, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    GOLDFISHES are so good! I haven’t had any in ages, I must buy them soon again 🙂

  2. Hotchoc26 September 19, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    Did you say you teach on supply? If so you are very brave! My week has been good but my new class are a real handful, I’m determined to get there with them though!

    Those fishy crackers really remind me of my childhood! xxx

    • thirtyandhealthy September 19, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

      Yeah I teach supply but I don’t get a lot of bookings because I live in a remote area. It’s pretty good actually because you can leave at 4pm and not feel guilty!

  3. Stacey (The Habit of Healthy) September 19, 2010 at 3:42 pm #

    I loved seeing the picture of the classroom. It took me right back to being at school.

  4. Laura September 19, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    Those sweets are really nice aren’t they! I could eat some right now, if I hadn’t munched the lot hehe, dangerous things to have around!

    Hope the job application goes well!

  5. Eleanor September 19, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    Have you tried Snack-a-Jacks? The salt and vinegar ones are my addiction! And just as good as a packet of crisps 🙂

    • thirtyandhealthy September 19, 2010 at 9:50 pm #

      Yeah and I do like them but only sometimes! I also really like Socrispy snacks from whole earth and sunchips!

  6. Laura@keepingslimandgettingstylish September 20, 2010 at 7:35 am #

    It must be great to teach the little ones, what a fab job! Those fishes remind me of ones I used to get from the tuck shop at the swimming pool – they were very salt and vinegar flavoured – just amazing!

  7. Alison September 20, 2010 at 7:49 am #

    I *immediately* thought of that Friends episode when you mentioned Goldfish. That and The West Wing, when Danny buys CJ an actual Goldfish..

    I’m loving the changing leaves at the moment – but then I love autumn. Lots of curling up with a good book and a hot chocolate! Not so good with all the commuting though. Hope that comes to an end soon.

  8. Sarah @Gluten-free tries Vegan September 20, 2010 at 8:56 am #

    Great photos! And I LOVE Goody Good Sweets. I reviewed them on my blog a few weeks ago and I’ve finished them already. Having major withdrawal symptoms. Oh, and my mum doesn’t get my food blogging ways either 🙂

    xxx

    • thirtyandhealthy September 20, 2010 at 9:15 am #

      I’m glad my Mum’s not the only one! The sweets are so good aren’t they?

  9. Hannah September 20, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    Oh dear heavens I miss goldfish! I remember being mildly obsessed with the Buffalo ones during my exchange year in the States. We have nothing like them here in Australia. Boo!

    • thirtyandhealthy September 20, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

      Yeah you have to hunt to get them here too. We don’t have Buffalo flavoured ones though!

  10. Neen @ Broad Bean to Runner Bean September 20, 2010 at 1:05 pm #

    ohh where did you get the goldfish from? glad your getting some teaching work! x

    • thirtyandhealthy September 20, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

      I got them at Loch Lomond shores in Balloch. There is a Jenners there with an American food stand. They don’t have much. You can also get Reece’s PB cups, piece’s and nutrageous bars at the grocery shop in main street of my town btw!

  11. Joslyn @ missfitbliss September 20, 2010 at 5:10 pm #

    That’s so cool that you teach children! I’m curious, what age is Primary 2? I’m assuming it’s the same as 2nd grade in the US, but I could be way off.

    • thirtyandhealthy September 20, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

      Primary 2 is the same as your 1st grade. We don’t have Kindergarten here, children start Primary 1 at the age of 4 or 5. They are definitely at their most cutest at this age IMHO!

  12. Tameka September 21, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    Excellent Friends reference! That episode is hilarious! I have a 7 year old so Goldfish are pretty much a necessary staple in our house! You’re right,they are much better to eat than chips (crisps)!

Leave a comment