My living room make-over

22 Sep

Thanks for the well wishes guys, I am now on the mend. I think it was just a light cold. I took it really easy (read lazy) yesterday and that seemed to do the trick!

For a couple of months Iโ€™ve been making over my living room, at a very relaxed pace. Are you starting to realise how laid-back I am about these things yet?

I have some before and after pictures for you ๐Ÿ™‚

The sofa wall- before:

DSCN2694

The sofa wall- after:

DSCN2722

All the other walls stayed the original magnolia.

The cushions- before:

DSCN2696

I hated those cushions- they came with the couch.

Cushions- after:

DSCN3232

I made the purple cushion covers on my Mumโ€™s sewing machine using fabric I bought from Mandors fabric shop in Glasgow. I made 2, the other cushion is on the reclining chair. The brown cushion is from Ikea and Iโ€™ve had it for a few years.

I also made curtain tie-backs.

Tie-backs – before:

DSCN3325

Tie-backs โ€“ after:

DSCN3326

I was given a coffee table from my parents and switched rugs with the bedroom too.

Rug and coffee table- before:

I had to go looking for that picture in an old blog post because I didnโ€™t have a pic.

Rug and coffee table- after:

DSCN3229

Everything else in the room is pretty much the same as it was. Iโ€™m so much happier with the way the room is now. I felt that the room seemed very cold last winter as there was no warmth in the decor colours. This is now a room Iโ€™m looking forward to getting cosy in.

DSCN2708

Lamp and candle light are my favourite way to get cosy. Blankets help too! I very rarely close my curtains as no-one can see in and sometimes you get a view of moonlight on the water.

DSCN2714

Are you going to change anything about your flat for the colder months? Whatโ€™s your favourite way to get cosy?

16 Responses to “My living room make-over”

  1. Sarah September 22, 2010 at 6:09 pm #

    Love the changes!
    It seems I’m always about to change something else in my place. Next up? Clean out all the boxes that are STILL cluttering up one of the (mostly unused) bedrooms and turn it into a sewing/reading room.

  2. Tamizn September 22, 2010 at 7:14 pm #

    I don’t have my own home so it will just be the turning on of my electric blanket that gets me cosy! x x

  3. Alison September 22, 2010 at 7:18 pm #

    Wow, it looks super cozy! I love love level lighting. Perfect for curling up with a book and a hot choc ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Stacey (The Habit of Healthy) September 22, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    Glad to hear you are feeling better. The space looks lovely; much improved. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Laura@keepingslimandgettingstylish September 22, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    Your living room looks fab! I love the colours and the cushions – the pink is gorgeous, so cosy! I love lighting candles to create a cosy atmosphere, add a blanket and a warm cup of something – preferably hot chocolate and I’m sorted ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. leashieloo September 22, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

    Omg, I LOVE the room! It’s crazy what a fresh dab of paint can do.

  7. Hotchoc26 September 23, 2010 at 6:00 am #

    It looks so lovely! You are so clever. That pik wall rocks. I want your rocking chair! xx

  8. Stella September 23, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    Your place looks great! I’m desperate to move back to Glasgow and was down viewing a few flats the other, I’m just in love with the Glasgow style flats and I’m all jealous looking at your gorgeous windows and floors!

    • thirtyandhealthy September 23, 2010 at 9:51 am #

      My flat is not actually in Glasgow although I do admit it looks very like ones in the West end! I love a spacious flat too! You should move to Glasgow and then we could have a meet-up!

  9. Hannah September 23, 2010 at 12:04 pm #

    I’m very impressed! I lack the visual skills to be able to comprehend doing make-overs. My housemate is the opposite – she changes things around every few weeks (then gets upset when I don’t noticed… :P)

  10. Laura September 23, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

    Looks great ๐Ÿ™‚ Love the new colour!

  11. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear September 23, 2010 at 6:27 pm #

    What a beautiful colour!! I love the wall! you’re so creative, the atmosphere in the last pic is lovely ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Joslyn @ missfitbliss September 23, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    I am blown away by that color! I would have never chosen it for a wall and yet it looks beautiful in your place. Way to take a chance!! I’m planning on getting some curtains for my place because it’s getting chilly and we have a whole wall of windows that leak cold air all winter long:)

  13. Angela (the diet book junkie) September 26, 2010 at 12:46 am #

    love the curtains!! i’ve never had a place to decorate, believe it or not. when we moved to Oz, we settled in a furnished apartment so there wasn’t much choice ๐Ÿ˜›

  14. Kath (Eating for Living) October 1, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    Hi! I’ve found your blog via Polar Bear. ๐Ÿ™‚ Your living room has incredibly improved! It looks so inviting now! Love the pink wall! ๐Ÿ˜€

    My favorite way to make a room cosy is light. Bright light from above is poison for cosiness, it’s better to have several reluctant light sources on a lower height. If I’m really in a mood, I’ll light tea candles in little glass bowls.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Food Loving Polar Bear | Mango Tango - September 30, 2010

    […] other day I got a lovely surprise from Jo who sent me a big selection of different yummy things we don’t have here in Finland. […]

Leave a comment