Warning!

21 Aug

The following is not a health food!

DSCN2986

My sister and I arrived at my Mum’s at lunch-time today, after a long walk on the beach.

DSCN2974

We were on the hungry side. There had been surfing . . . we were only spectators but that’s hungry work you know . . .

DSCN2973

So, anyway, my Mum very kindly offered to make us lunch. Well we begged but she said, ‘I’ll do anything for my girls.’ She made us an epic lunch!

DSCN2976

I’d suggest that you don’t start taking photos of your camera-shy Mum as she’s holding a sharp knife. I assured my very generous Mum that I would only take photos of her hands and the food.

Check out my parents’ hens’ eggs. If they were Cadbury I’d be thinking it was Easter.

DSCN2980 

DSCN2987

Eggy (French) Croque-Monsieur
Ingredients

2 slices of bread (go with seeded and all is forgiven)

1 egg (or 2 mini eggs)

Tbsp milk

Cheese

Ham

Cooking oil

How to do it

Make a regular cheese sandwich, dip it in egg and milk mixture and fry in a hot oiled frying pan. Continue to flip until cheese is melted. Devour.

Helene is this a French recipe really? What would you call it?

I’m having a really busy and fun weekend, lots of family time and live music. Just what I need!

**Thank you to everyone who commented on my last post- lots of ideas about what people would do if they had extra time on their hands. Today I took Anne’s advice and spent time with the babies around me (while listening to live music on the green)

DSCN2988

The baby in green is yoga baby! Love!

I hope you guys are having a lovely weekend. XOXO

8 Responses to “Warning!”

  1. Angela (the diet book junkie) August 21, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

    what beautiful pictures! that is a skill i have yet to master:) hope you’re having a great weekend!

  2. Hannah August 22, 2010 at 4:05 am #

    Oh dear heavens, that looks so crispity gooey salty savoury yummy. Hurrah for mothers that cook what you want, when you want! Hurrah!

  3. Neen @ Broad Bean to Runner Bean August 22, 2010 at 6:59 am #

    sounds like a fab wknd hun! hope your enjoying yourself x

  4. Laura August 22, 2010 at 11:06 am #

    That beach looks so gorgeous! I love all the different sized eggs, you forget the sizes can differ so much when you get them from a supermarket!

  5. That cheesy eggy bread looks devine! Gorgeous pics of the beach and I love that pic of you with surrounded my the babies!

    • thirtyandhealthy August 22, 2010 at 8:18 pm #

      Oh how I wish that was me in the photo. That was one of the Mum’s, looking all slim and glam!

  6. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear August 22, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

    Oh! looks so good 😛

    I really like your beach pictures and yay for spending time with babies. I did the same today! 🙂

  7. helenerocks August 22, 2010 at 4:39 pm #

    Hiya! It might be a French recipe…but Ive never heard of it 😦
    We…well I only eat the basic Croque Monsieur which is just 2 slices of bread wirh ham and cheese or Croque Madame (just add some tomatoes in it).
    Dont know what the eggy version would be called…Im gonna do some research on it and if I find something, I’ll get back to you 😉
    I wish I could live by the beach! In France, it’s only 15mins away from my parents house…here, 1h minimum 😦

Leave a Reply

