I’m scared of . . .

19 Aug

DSCN2938

Putting my feet into my slipper boots when there’s a spider in one,

DSCN2947

Running out of marmite,

DSCN2940

DSCN2942

Returning overdue library books (I might get a row!),

DSCN2946

DSCN2948

The phone never ringing. Schools went back today so I have glued myself to my phones, hoping they will ring with news of supply work. It hasn’t happened yet. In truth it probably won’t happen until flu season hits around November time.

My instincts are telling me to wallow. I feel like getting into bed with some DVDs and chocolate but really I know better. I know that the way to feel happier, more useful, more valuable is to stay busy. Stay busy and accomplish things, whether that’s getting the dishes done, learning to play Chopsticks on the piano or writing the synopsis for a novel. Productivity is vital for self-esteem, I know this through experience (remember I mentioned I have seen a lot of Buffy, can you imagine how many hours that took? No, I don’t consider sitting around for hours watching vamp ass kicking to be productive).

If you had a lot of time on your hands, what would you like to accomplish?

I hope you’re all having a great day, please excuse me while I study the insides of my slippers, it’s getting nippy around here! I may also put on some Bubbles 🙂

13 Responses to “I’m scared of . . .”

  1. Laura August 19, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    Eeeek that spider business would have had me running, one was in my pajama leg before I had a right crazy moment jumping on the bed trying to get my pajamas off and the spider away from me… it really is amazing that Mike is still around haha

    I love your ikea lamp btw, we had two of those and managed to smash both of them… rubbish!!

    • thirtyandhealthy August 19, 2010 at 2:07 pm #

      Ha! Poor guy (spider not Mike ;))

      I love the lamp too, I have 3 of them. I did manage to smash one so I bought a replacement and now stay well away from them, luckily the switch is on the cord!

  2. Neen @ Broad Bean to Runner Bean August 19, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    ahh spiders in shoes, i totally tap all my shoes upside down before i put them on EVERY time! imagine if you put em on and there a creeper in there!! eeeeeeew!! i hope you get some work soon chicka i have everything crossed for you!

    PS please can you change me on your blog roll? you still have me up there as “Neenie’s getting there” fankies xx

  3. LME August 19, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    Hee hee – I shake everything I put on – slippers, socks, clothes, coats… I also put the bathroom light on and pause to check the floor before I go in. Spiders are always in our bathroom.

    • thirtyandhealthy August 19, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

      That is crazy- my bathroom is my flat’s spider hotspot too! It would be fine if they all fell in the bath or loo but they make themselves at home on the floor and walls instead!

  4. I love those slipper boots! They look so cosy and warm. I’m quite used to spiders now but would freak if one was in my slipper! If I had loads of time on my hands I would probably want to write a book or study for another qualification perhaps in nutrition, or start my painting and photography up again. I’d love to have my own etsy shop selling stuff I’d made!

  5. Jo@jagsfitnessblog.com August 19, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    Marmite is eeeeeeeeeeeeeevil!

  6. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear August 19, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

    If Marmite is anything like Vegemite.. uh 😀

    If I would have a lo of extra time on my hands I would definitely spend it doing yoga at the hot yoga studio – and also getting to know the little babies all around me and spend time with friends who are on maternity leave.

  7. Hannah August 20, 2010 at 2:52 am #

    I’d like to learn html/css stuff, so I can sort out the new blog I bought and can’t use. Darnit… 😛

    And I absolutely think watching Buffy is productive. It makes you laugh and feel better, and all the pop culture references make us S-M-R-T. Plus, James Marsters is attractive. 😀

  8. Stacey @ The Habit of Healthy August 21, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

    I have been craving Marmite all week. Seeing it on your blog makes me think I will definitely have to get some when I go shopping tomorrow!

  9. Tamizn August 21, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    Dito with the spider in the slippers fear, but mine wouldn’t be marmite it would tahini! x x

  10. leashieloo August 21, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

    If I had more free time I would relearn some of things I used to be good at…speaking Spanish, playing piano, art, etc. That and clean my house!

Leave a Reply

