Muffin fail

12 Aug

Thank you everyone who took my poll, if you haven’t had a chance yet please do it now!

So I had a disaster in the kitchen today. I wanted to make carrot cake muffins for family visitors that are coming tomorrow. I used this Weight Watchers recipe. I must have done something wrong because they are BAD. Absolutely gross. I didn’t have any margarine so I used butter, I use a soya spread so opted not to use that. The recipe asked me to melt the margarine and let it cool so I melted the same amount of butter and let it cool. Maybe the butter was too old, I only keep it for baking.

DSCN2889

They are inedible. I’m going to give them to my parents’ hens and hope they don’t kill them.

In other news, I also had a peach smoothie that I didn’t love.

DSCN2886 

It contained a peeled and chopped ripe peach, a peach ski yoghurt and milk. It kind of tasted too much like a yoghurt drink.

Maybe I’ll compensate for these food fails with some marmite on toast. To be honest, anything that takes the disgusting taste of those muffins away is ok by me.

DSCN2422

DSCN2258

Poor guy doesn’t know what’s coming.

I’m off to play pool with friends tonight. If you live in Britain don’t forget to pop outside at around half 10 to catch Perseids, I’ve only caught it twice in my life but love it. Plus you can pretend the meteors are shooting stars and make a heck load of wished 🙂

7 Responses to “Muffin fail”

  1. I think we might have too many clouds to catch it here 😦 its crap when you have cooking or baking fails, but at least you know you have had lots of other successes! Hope you don’t kill the hens! x

  2. helenerocks August 12, 2010 at 9:50 pm #

    Hey! Sorry, didnt answer the poll. Ive had some time management problem lately and find it difficult to catch up on blogs…but Im working on it.
    To answer it anyway, I dont mind where you answer. To be honest, I dont even reply to the comments people leave on my blog, which Im now realising is a bit rude :s sorry about that.
    About your kitchen disaster, dont worry, it must be a bad week as You, Stella and I seem to have problems (ive failed 3 times this week).
    Hope you’re enjoying your evening 😉

  3. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear August 13, 2010 at 6:19 am #

    I feel you! It’s more common for me to have a muffin fail than to actually produce edible muffins 😀

  4. Neen @ Broad Bean to Runner Bean August 13, 2010 at 7:44 am #

    aww thats a shame about the muffins, i usually find Weight watchers or Slimming World baking/dessert recipes are a fail!

  5. Laura August 13, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    This post cracked me up! I hope the hens are ok!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. No animals harmed . . . « Thirty and Healthy - August 14, 2010

    […] round we were winning because I remembered the name of the meteor shower I was talking about on Thursday! We didn’t win overall because they had a round on PGA tours. We were struggling to come up with […]

  2. The phone rang! « Thirty and Healthy - August 24, 2010

    […] no, those muffins had nothing to do with […]

Leave a Reply

