My protein smoothie

22 Jul

For the last few weeks I’ve been thinking it’s about time I got on the protein train. Laura has done a couple of helpful posts on protein but I still didn’t want to spend on a tub of the stuff only to find out I hated it! Luckily Neen jumped to my rescue and gave me a couple of samples of her and Buddy’s favourite protein powders. Neen uses My protein’s strawberry whey powder.

I decided to whip up a smoothie, featuring protein, as a snack. I used these blurry ingredients:

Ta-Da:

I tasted it before I added the protein powder (beautiful flavour of ripe strawbs) and after (gross nesquik fake strawberry flavouring taste). It’s grown on me though, which is lucky because the calorie count is not pretty!

373 cals, 34g protein. Not terrible as long as it’s my only snack of the day 🙂

In other news, yesterday was a bust due to the stomach muscle pain following Tuesday’s core pilates. I swear there are core muscles I didn’t know existed before- every single muscle, all round my sides, up to the bottom of my ribs and down to my pelvis were agony! Brilliant! It meant that I couldn’t do much yesterday but thats ok. Today I did a much more chilled yoga session and am planning a walk if the rain ever stops.

4 Responses to “My protein smoothie”

  1. Jo@jagsfitnessblog.com July 22, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

    I’d highly recommend the MP True Whey – you can buy sample sachets for 99p and they come in lots of different flavours. My favourite for shakes is either chocolate or strawberry but cookies & cream is my favourite all rounder and I use that in my oats 99% of the time.

  2. Neenie July 22, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    try leaving the yoghurt out hun to cut it down in cals, i use it with just milk if im feeling flush with the cals or with just water if im being tight with the cals, but thats not so nice so its a down in one jobber then! but it does the job and is only 115 cals! bonus!

    • Jo July 22, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

      Yeah I actually ended up having it be lunch! It filled me up! I was running around all afternoon and am just getting my tea now at 7:45!

  3. Laura July 23, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    hehe core workouts are the worst for making you sore! You know you’ve worked hard though!

Leave a Reply

