Eating better

19 Jul

I mentioned before that I’ve been struggling to make healthy choices of late. One of the problems I have is that I don’t have a clear goal. I don’t have an event to lose weight for, or a firm goal weight or size. Generally I just want to be healthier. I’m now in the healthy BMI range, but only just. All I know is that I don’t want to backslide into completely unhealthy eating habits and gain weight.

Today I worked on eating when I’m hungry but making good choices.

Breakfast

 

Porridge made on the hob with:

1/2 cup oats

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup soya milk

1/2 chopped banana (stirred in briskly at end of cooking)

Topped with:

1t dessicated coconut

1t dark choc chips

1t slivered almonds

Just over a month ago I decided to quit caffiene. About a week ago I decided to bring it back. It really is something I look forward to and enjoy. I tend to only have a cup of coffee/mocha in the morning, apart from the very occasional diet pepsi or starbucks.

Lunch

Was an unpictured PB sandwich with an apple on the side.

Dinner

Prawn stir-fry made with a dessert spoon of Blue Dragon sweet chilli dipping sauce. I ate about 2 thirds of this and then had dessert of strawbs and bluebs:

I also had a 9 bar as a snack in the afternoon.

There is a good chance I will be fridge-raiding in a while. I’m still hungry!

7 Responses to “Eating better”

  1. Neenie July 19, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

    looks like a good day well done! keep it up! x

  2. Laura July 19, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    I’ve always felt the thing to do is find the balance that works for you to maintain your weight. You want to have some treats but mainly healthy, I always go for the 80/20 rule, 80% healthy 20% treats and that seems to work for me. It looks like you had a good day eating wise though, better than mine hehe!

  3. healthyamy July 19, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

    Your food choices look great to me today. I too feel like i have not been making the healthiest of choices and feel quite ‘podgy’ at the moment. I really need to step it up a gear – but it is not easy is it? xxx

  4. Lindsay July 19, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

    Looks like you made awesome choices today. The strawberries and blubes have me heading to raid my refrigerator now!

  5. Christine (The Raw Project) July 19, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    The food choices look great, especially breakfast. For me, adding more fresh vegetables to my diet help fill me up.

  6. Fit Chick in the City July 20, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    Your breakfast looks good!

  7. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear July 21, 2010 at 4:53 pm #

    Prawn stir fry. Loving it! It’s so good to be back home and reading blogs – now I have tons of ideas for healthy dinners again 🙂

Leave a Reply

