Catching Up

22 Jun

I know I have a lot of catching up to do, with this blog and with reading and commenting on yours! That may take me all week at the rate I’m going, but I’ll start by letting you know what happened on Friday.

If you are a reader of Neenie’s blog then you’ll know that we met up for lunch 🙂

I was heading to Glasgow for the weekend and decided to stop off in the town that Neen works in, for lunch. We went to a little cafe called The Smithie that had the healthiest menu I think I’ve come across yet. Which is great considering it was hidden away in a back street of a small Scottish town!

I ordered a random salad bowl:

It was so good! I loved how there was fruit mixed in with everything else. It’s fair to say that I did not see the bottom of this bowl. Partly because I was too busy talking to eat 🙂

Neen ordered the Hummus:

Obviously we felt brave enough to photograph our food.

I also took a photo of Neen’s nails, did you read her post on how to do a manicure? Well her nails showed that she is quite skilled!

I should point out that she’s wearing a wedding ring to keep her engagement ring from slipping off. She’s actually getting hitched in September. I was surprised at how pretty Neen is in real life- her photos do not do her justice, she’ll make a stunning bride.

I have no idea what’s going on with my face in this picture. It looks like I’m totally sticking my chin out.

We spent about an hour and a half getting to know each other, chatting about blogging and eating and exercising! It was perfect, I always feel like I can’t talk to my friends and family about things like healthy recipes, or nutritional tables, for fear of boring them silly! That’s one of the reasons I love blogging, and meeting a fellow blogger is fantastic 🙂

I can’t wait to meet up with Neen again.

The rest of Friday involved a stop at a shopping centre where I got a Strawberry Energy Smoothie from Zumo:

It was really delicious, I got a really funny look from a guy as I photographed it which made me giggle. I’m much braver when I’m not around people I know.

Then I was off to my brother’s flat where we munched on something special:

That’s my brother Jamie looking goofy with a mouthful of brownie! They were Avocado and Black Bean Brownies which were a lovely gift from Neen 🙂 They were so nice, I couldn’t tell they had avocado in them which was good as I’m not a fan. Jamie loved them and ate more than his share 😦 He studied catering in college for a while and likes baking, he wants the recipe. I’m sure Neen mentioned that she found it on another blog but I’m not sure which?

I shall be back tomorrow with my recap of the wedding I went to on Saturday. I hope you all had a great weekend! XOXO

14 Responses to “Catching Up”

  1. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear June 22, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    Awwww,I wish I would live closer to other bloggers too. A blogger meeting would be so much fun 🙂

    Hmm… your brother is cute! 😀

    • Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear June 22, 2010 at 11:36 am #

      Oh and yes, I read Neenie’s blog but can’t comment it because there is no option for Name/URL, so Neenie if you’re reading this you know you have one reader in Finland 🙂

    • thirtyandhealthy June 22, 2010 at 11:40 am #

      Aw! Come and visit. I have a spare room 😉 You could do a Blogger tour of the UK!

  2. LME June 22, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    Hi! I know Neenie from a wedding planning site. Glad you got on well with her and her nails are very impressive!!

    Here is the link to the brownies: http://carascravings.blogspot.com/2010/02/treat-for-your-sweet.html

  3. Laura June 22, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    Sounds like a fun day 🙂 Those brownies sound yummy too, you’ll have to point me in the right direction of the recipe if you find it!

    • thirtyandhealthy June 22, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

      It was a good day thanks! Hope you’re doing well, hope to see a post from you soon 🙂

  4. Lindsay June 22, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    I love salads with fruit in them! They satisfy my savory and sweet tooth in one!

    • thirtyandhealthy June 22, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

      Me too! I never get too adventurous when I’m making them at home though, I shall have to try!

  5. Jo@jagsfitnessblog.com June 22, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

    I’m so jealous you got to have a blogger meet up! I was supposed to have mine last month with Tara & Gym Ninja but it all fell through 😦

    We should arrange a big blogger meet up before the summer is out – we could meet somewhere central and go for a big healthy picnic in a park (with wine of course!)

    What do you think?

    • thirtyandhealthy June 22, 2010 at 5:18 pm #

      Ooh that sounds cool! It would be good if we had some kind of British Blogger forum to thrash ideas out on, and find all the other British blogs. I’m not terribly technical so it’s not a job for me though!

  6. neen June 22, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

    hey there chikita! welcome back to blogland!! thanks for the mention and for saying such nice things about me! you’ll see from my post that i had lots of fun too! glad you and your (cute) bro liked the brownies, and thanks LME for pointing Jo in the right direction! Jag – a central blogger meet would be excellent! x

  7. blondeviki June 22, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

    The food looks lovely – always feels very healthy when there are lots of bright colours on the plate 🙂 I hope you had a lovely day! You are right, Neen is very pretty – I don’t read her blog but I hope she posts a few wedding photos eventually – I’m such a sucker for weddings
    😀

Leave a Reply

