Motivational Monday- Part 2

31 May

If you missed part one, you can read it here. If you don’t need motivation you can skip to the end to hear about SATC2!

Action/Sport Movies

Thats right, I gain quite a lot of motivation, on a fitness level, from movies. More specifically ones where there is a strong female lead. While Rocky and his theme tune are certainly inspiring there’s something a little more invigorating about a woman kicking ass 🙂 Happily there are more and more female characters like this in films nowadays.

Charlie’s Angels

Scarlett in Iron man 2, she rocked in this role, but didn’t have enough screen time IMHO!

Angelina in Mr and Mrs Smith- one of my favourite films 🙂

Bridget Fonda in The Assassin, a good movie with lots of action!

Aaliyah in Romeo Must Die, she doesn’t have a whole lot of action shots but it’s a good film regardless.

Michelle Pfieffer as Catwoman

Jessica Alba in Honey. It’s not action, but I guess you could call it sport? Is dance classed as a sport?

T.V. heroines

Buffy

Buffy is by far my favourite ever t.v. series and I’ve seen every episode multiple times. I love the choreography along with the humour!

Faith. Sometimes in on the fight for good, sometimes plain evil. Always looked hot!

Wonder Woman

There should be more strong women in film and tv I think. Who are your screen idols? Do you ever get inspired by watching films or tv?

*  *  *  *  *

Sex and the City 2

(Let me assure you that now I’ve seen photos of myself in that top it’s going in the charity pile!)

So Rachel and I went to see SATC2 yesterday afternoon, after a mooch around the shops. We both liked it. I actually preferred it to the first one which I had found both dull and depressing. I was surprised by how much older the stars looked and at times I felt they were deliberately made to look older. By the way, Rachel and I are convinced that it’s not actually Kim Cattral in the poster above us! She looks like a completely different person!

The fashions in the film ranged from being lovely things that you would buy yourself (Charlotte’s dresses mostly) to hats that should have been left in the warehouse, let alone at home (Carrie’s).

The highlights were the relationships between the girls (despite marriages and children which can get in the way) and the interior of Carrie’s home. Stunning!

A walk

Yesterday I also went for a walk with my friend David. I thought I’d share a couple of photos.

This is the house that will be mine one day. Should I win the lottery or marry that millionaire I’ve been waiting for 🙂

I hadn’t been aware that my headlights made a lot of noise. Will need to be careful of this in future 😉

I hope you guys are all having a fab bank holiday weekend! I’m driving home this afternoon and then hopefully I’ll have time to read your blogs and see what you’ve all been up to!

6 Responses to “Motivational Monday- Part 2”

  1. laura@keepingslimandgettingstylish May 31, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    I really enjoyed the SATC movie, I thought this one was way funnier than the first but didn’t have as strong a story line. I loved the fashion and interiors but I agree, some of the stuff that carrie and samantha wore was a bit mental, but thats all in the SATC spirit I guess! I love strong female characters in TV and movies (my hubby has a huge thing for faith out of buffy!)I just wish I could be as kick ass as them!

  2. healthyamy May 31, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    Hello there – sorry i have been away for a while. It’s good to actually SEE you in your blogs – i can put a face to your blogs!

    I really want to see SATC 2 but hubby said ‘no way’ – i’m hopefully going to go see it with some girlfriends soon. I hope you are doing well (i’m going to try and plough through your past blogs this afternoon!) x

  3. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear May 31, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    I can’t wait for next week to see SATC 2, I haven’t been very hopeful about it because I saw the trailer and it’s a bit of a spoiler IF everything happens like I have thought it will happen in the movie 😀

    I love it that you post pictures of yourself, its so nice to see the person behind the posts! 🙂

  4. sophia May 31, 2010 at 6:23 pm #

    Do you think SATC’s women are motivational though? For some reason I don’t really find them very admirable. I enjoy their antics, but I find myself laughing at them rather than with them…

    I remember when Charlie’s Angels first came out, I was OBSESSED over it. Finally! Women beating the shit out of men! haha!

    • thirtyandhealthy May 31, 2010 at 10:01 pm #

      Haha no I certainly don’t find the SATC women motivational in the traditional sense. However, I do admire them in their commitment to friendship along with their independance!

  5. Katherine: What About Summer? May 31, 2010 at 11:48 pm #

    ah I needed this today… power trip soon

Leave a Reply

