Book Review- Live alone and like it

30 May

Hey guys, thanks for your kind words about my outfit etc! I’ve been really busy, sorry I’ve not posted much. Today I’m off for a walk with David and then shopping and SATC2 with the bride to be 🙂 I’ll leave you with some photos of the hen night (which was completely awesome!) and a book review!

The hen and I (I’m on the left obviously!)

The camera adds 10lbs!

Won’t Rachel make a beautiful bride? I can’t wait to see her dress!

 

‘Live alone and like it’ by Marjorie Hillis

I ordered this book from Amazon after reading a recommendation by In Limbo.

I thought it would be a nice book for me; I live alone and like it already but you can never be too happy or have too many pairs of shoes 😉

The book was written in the 1930s and mostly you can tell that it is that out of date. Back then it was not common for women to live alone and singletons did feel a social pressure to be in a relationship. Hell Bridget Jones was only written 13 years ago and the poor woman couldn’t cope with singledom, partly due to her match-making mother! Luckily my Mum couldn’t care less if I was married, gay, Asexual or a life-long spinster, so long as I’m happy 🙂

The author obviously thinks she’s being liberal, “There may still be those in Alabama who look upon an unmarried state as an affliction, but in New York it is at most a very minor ailment.” I just don’t think she succeeded particularly!

What she does do is set out a number of rules for the single woman. The title would suggest these rules were in aid of making the reader happier. This isn’t the case though, the rules are simply to stop the reader from ‘letting herself go’ or to keep them from becomming a hinderance to their married friends and family, or simply to prevent them from making a show of themselves. According to Ms Hillis (single or not I have no idea) we must not dine out alone, we must have a hobby to do indoors and one to do outdoors and we must not spend time alone in shabby clothes. Most of the book is made up of case studies which validate her rules, these were pretty fun to read. There are also some reader questions. One reader asked if it was okay to wear pyjamas when recieving a gentleman guest. The writer goes on to say that it depends on the pyjama. Did you know there were 4 kinds? Sleeping, beach, hostess and lounging!

One thing I loved was the notion of the breakfast in bed being one of the major perks of the single life. You guys know how much I love my breakfast in bed 🙂

 

I personally don’t lay on my front while I eat right enough 😉 I prefer to fluff up some pillows and get right back into bed, read blogs and take my own sweet time over my porridge and coffee! Bliss!

There are many more little pockets of treasure in the book. Case studies of women who know how to treat themselves with kindness and respect, and humourous annecdotes too. A random thought: I think Marjorie Hillis would love Carrie Bradshaw, in fact I reckon if she’d been the same age she would have been one of the SATC gang!

I hope you guys are all having a great weekend! I’ll be back tomorrow with Motivational Monday!

5 Responses to “Book Review- Live alone and like it”

  1. laura@keepingslimandgettingstylish May 30, 2010 at 11:59 am #

    You look really lovely in those photos, glad you had a great time! We’ll have to compare notes on SATC later, I can’t wait to see it! x

  2. effieboo May 30, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    I’m glad you enjoyed the book! Like I said, it was a bit dated, but I just love the little bits of advice on how to keep your life glamorous and fun.

  3. Lindsay May 30, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    It looks like you had a blast! Pretty lady! The book sounds interesting. I think I’m going to add that one to my list.

  4. Laura May 30, 2010 at 7:09 pm #

    Your pictures are really pretty 🙂

    I didn’t know there could be four kinds of pajamas… Maybe I need to buy some more…. any excuse!!

  5. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear May 31, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    You look so cute in your pictures 🙂

    Hmm.. I really need to find that book, I’m curious! and I did not know there are 4 different kinds of pyjamas! 😀

Leave a Reply

