Feel Good Clothes

27 May

Some food from today:

Believe it or not, fish fingers and rice is a comfort food for me! When I was a child my family had a curry night at least once a week, I didn’t like curry so my Mum would give me fish fingers with my rice!

Body Demons?

I’m going to a hen night in Glasgow tomorrow night. I’m leaving straight from work and driving 3-4 hours and then meeting my friend and all the other hens at around 8, they’re meeting at 7.  I’m really looking forward to seeing my friend and having a night out but I’m having something of a clothing dilemma. I know my friend and some of the others are wearing glam dresses for a night out on the town. The truth is I’m not very comfortable in my clothes at the moment. Since I lost half a stone I’ve gone from a size 16 to a 14, and my body shape has changed from an hour glass to a pear. I have literally nothing that looks good on me anymore! Lots of clothes stopped fitting and had to be put out, but lots still fit; I just don’t feel like they flatter me in any way. I was always a good dresser; I knew how to dress for my shape and never bought anything that I didn’t look good in just because it was ‘in style’. I also dressed for my size- no muffin tops for me!

As the hen night is tomorrow night, and there are no clothes shops in my town, I have to wear something I already own. I have one dress that fits but planned to wear that to the wedding, one pair of jeans that are too short, and one pair of nice black trousers. Obviously I’m wearing the black trousers. Having tried on my whole wardrobe this morning I have narrowed it down to 2 tops, a knitted purple short-sleeved one with beads around the neck, and a black and silver top with an open back (it ties in the middle to cover the bra strap). I’ll let you know which one I wear! So now that I have taken the best from my wardrobe, I have to find the mental resolve to go out there with my slim friends and their dresses and feel good about myself. I’m going to be completely honest- I have rarely felt uncomfortable in my skin, I’ve been happy with my figure and not felt the need to compete, when in clothes. Mostly. The reason I started trying to slim down was because my body was changing, my arms were getting cellulite on them, and the cellulite on my legs was getting worse. Also I was starting to put weight onto my waist, where I’d never carried much weight before. Isn’t it strange that I’m getting slimmer but feeling more unsure of myself? So the aim for tomorrow is to get ready, look in the mirror, remind myself that I look beautiful and go out there smiling! Wish me luck! Then on Saturday I’m going to buy a decent pair of jeans and a dressy top in a size 14 so I don’t have this dilemma again for a while!

Glamour magazine’s Rules on ditching the body demons:

  1. Bin any clothes that you don’t feel great in. Wear the clothes that get the most compliments most often. I agree that it’s better to have 4 great outfits than 10 so-so ones!
  2. Admire your good points. Before you go out look at yourself in the mirror and look at the part of yourself that looks the best. I happen to think that I have a great smile, and get compliments on it often. So I never look in the mirror without a smile on my face! If someone else saw me smiling at myself in the mirror they might think me odd but I dont care. I even do it in public loos!
  3. Fake it till you make it. I am a huge believer in this. I think I’m naturally quite shy but I try not to show it, I also never show insecurities when I’m out on a night out, I grin and strut about like I think I’m Naomi Campbell! (Not quite but you get the idea)

Glamour can come away with a load of nonsense (like this months diet advice) but this article speaks a lot of sense and I’m going to try and remember it tomorrow night! How is your own body image? Do you feel comfortable with yourself?

**I will be away until Monday, I’m taking my laptop and will post when I can! I’m going to try and be a bit braver with the camera, and take food photos when out and about. Expect a photo of a starbucks frapp on Saturday! I’m also going to the cinema tonight, so if I don’t comment on your blog- I’m sorry and I’ll get to it soon!

Have a lovely evening everyone XOXO

7 Responses to “Feel Good Clothes”

  1. Lindsay May 27, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    You’re doing wonderful! Dropping from a 16 to a 14 is definitely something you should be proud of. I’m hoping you pick the shirt with the open back. You’re going to look great!

  2. Helen May 27, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

    You are doing so great with your weight loss. And you have the right attitude about dealing with your new body shape. As Gok Wan would say “it’s all about the confidence!!!” Have a great time tomorrow and at the weekend.

  3. Fit Chick in the City May 28, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    Glamour made some great points!

  4. laura@keepingslimandgettingstylish May 28, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

    I used to kid myself when I was bigger as I used to tell myself that I was happy when really I wasn’t. Its only been the last few months that I’ve become more confident, even though I still have a few worries about some pre weight loss sagging! I’m determined that this summer I’m going to feel truely confident for the first time! Those tips from Glamour are really good. I’m sure you’ll look fantastic, I sometimes think it doesnt matter what size or shape you are but if you let your confidence and personality shine through, that makes you more beautiful and attracts more people to you. I hope you have a great time and I’m sure that you will look fab and knock their socks off!

  5. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear May 29, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    Have fun this weekend! and hey, you’ve done so great dropping 2 dress sizes, amazing!

    It was very comforting to know that there are ex-smokers in the super healthy blog world too, now I don’t feel like a freak 🙂 thanks for the kind comments!

  6. Katherine: What About Summer? May 29, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

    So much of the way an outfit looks is about how you wear it. Wear it with confidence and it’ll look great!
    Keep you chin up and shoulders back 🙂
    Katherine

  7. Laura May 30, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    Hope you enjoyed the hen night in the end. Totally understand how you feel about not being comfortable in your clothes. I bet you look so much better than you think though, we always see things worse than they are! Thanks for the glamour stuff, I always thinks it good to read those reminders! It’s so easy to feel negative about our bodies but so difficult to feel good about them.

    p.s. I totally want that watermelon!!

Leave a Reply

