Cajun Salmon

26 May

Look whats back:

I couldn’t go without strawberries on my porridge for long!

Lunch was 2 rolls, one with ham and one with marmite.

After school snack was a big bowl of Special K oats and honey. I hate how Special K has this wierd control over me! I can’t resist. How is it that I can walk past the cadbury’s but not the cereal? Gah!

I also ate this:

The other day I walked past the watermelon in Tesco. Today after work I really wanted that watermelon, so I went and bought it!

Dinner was something new:

Cajun salmon and roasted corn salsa Click for recipe. It was so simple! The whole prep and cook time totalled like 12 minutes! It was also pretty heavenly, and only 320 cals apparently. Try it! I made a few substitutions for items I didn’t have. Balsamic instead of white wine vinegar, canned corn instead of corn on the cob, I left the limes out and I didn’t have spinach.

Dessert:

So I have spent far too much money on food this week. The watermelon cost £2.50, the salmon was £1.80, the strawberries were like £2 for a small tub (maybe 3 porridge servings) and the Special K was £2.50. I don’t mind paying out for strawberries as they are arguably my favourite fruit and they are only in season for a short time so I have to make the most of them! Salmon is so healthy I need to get it, but maybe canned salmon is cheaper? The Special K should have been avoided! What do you splurge on, food wise?

Do you find eating healthy to be more expensive than living on junk? Today though there was an offer on veg! I got a cucumber and salad onions were free! That never happens. There’s never a shortage of offers on biscuits or crisps though. Also, the whole thing where they put those cheap deals on chocolate right inside the door so that’s all you can see when you go into Tesco: well that’s driving me mental!

A confession: Since I started eating and shopping more healthily- I’ve been obsessed with other people’s trolleys. I am so nosy! I look at the person, wonder if they’re shopping for a family, check out their choice of cereal, analyse the ratio of plant to processed foods . . . Ok that confession made it sound like I go around leaning into baskets and even checking out people’s food nutritional labels. I don’t do that! I also don’t judge. It’s like the ex-smoker thing, I know what its like to be addicted . . .

I hope you guys had a good hump day! XOXO

10 Responses to “Cajun Salmon”

  1. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear May 26, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    Ha, we both had salmon today! yay!

    I’m also veeeery curious about other people’s stuff at grocery stores, I love peeking into their trolleys 😀 😀

  2. Helen May 26, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

    I used to “binge” on cereal when at uni and used to get through half a box in a night! Now though I can control myself much better! I am so judgmental when looking in people’s trollies especially if they have loads of ready meals / fast food. I’m so horrible!

    • thirtyandhealthy May 26, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

      I tend to limit myself to one bowl as a snack or dessert but that bowl tends to be 3x recommended serving size!

  3. Jo@jagsfitnessblog.com May 26, 2010 at 7:46 pm #

    I’m also a food snob and have also turned my husband into one – we’re both terrible at nosing in other people’s trolleys at shopping. I’m not proud to admit that by the way!

  4. blondeviki May 26, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    I’m always having a nosy in people’s baskets too – when they have lots of veggies I wonder what they are going to make with them 🙂

    I worked as a checkout girl while I was at university and I loved that job just because I could have a good loo at what people were getting and chat to them about things I hadn’t tried to get their opinion and cooking tips 😀

    • thirtyandhealthy May 26, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

      I worked in a fruit shop! Not so interesting as they were only buying fruit, veg and flowers! I wouldn’t have done well working in a supermarket, all the muffins and whatnot would have tempted me into gaining another stone! At least in the fruit shop I only stole grapes!

  5. laura@keepingslimandgettingstylish May 26, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

    I totally nose at other peoples trolleys and its so difficult not to be judgemental! My shopping bills have gone through the roof since eating more healthily. I think its worth paying more for good quality food that you really enjoy eating, but sometimes when your really skint it can be tough. If the government really wanted people to be healthier then they should tax the crap and subsidise the fruit and veg with the proceeds!

    • thirtyandhealthy May 26, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

      Here here! We should start a pressure group! Or at least plan a march on it!

Leave a Reply

