Hungry Fish

25 May

I went for a swim with my friend Shell today. She tends to go Tuesdays and Thursday lunch times so I’ve been trying to go with her. Before I went I babysat baby Cara for an hour so her Mum could go to the gym. I had 2 slices of brown toast, with margarine, in the cafe at 11. When I got home at 1:30 I was still starving! So I ate a wholemeal roll with ham, and carrot and cucumber sticks on the side. Yummy! But didn’t hit the spot. So I had another roll with PB, Nutella and a banana. Major Yum! But still hungry, I managed to wait half an hour but then I went and munched a cereal bar and some dried fruit. I was still hungry for dinner at 5:30!  

Fahitas! I had 1 and a half 🙂 I wont show you a photo of them after they were rolled. It’s not a skill I possess!

So yesterday I had a really good day of eats, and I had a good gym session. I was starving hungry in the evening but really I was just craving sugar. I’ve been getting a little too good at indulging in the sugar lately! Last night I managed to resist the sugar but still ended up eating 2 rice cakes before bed. I wasn’t overly hungry through the day.

I really do feel like I’m hungrier after swimming than I am after the gym. Which is just ridiculous as I rarely swim more than 20 lengths and it only takes about 20 minutes, so theres no way I burn more calories. It’s something I’ve noticed over the last couple of years, not just a new discovery.

Do you notice an increase in appetite after a workout? Which kind of workout increases your appetite most?

I’m guessing the runners among you really need a good amount of calories after the long runs! I notice an increase in hunger after any gym or swim session, but can walk for miles and eat normally. I guess I should go out and walk more!

P.S. I was looking for a picture on google images, of a hungry fish, and found this:

How freaky is that?

Have a great night guys- I’m off to read my book 🙂

5 Responses to “Hungry Fish”

  1. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear May 25, 2010 at 7:00 pm #

    Haha, my fajitas never look good rolled 😀

    I have a big appetit even without excersise and after sports it’s HUGE, impossible to satisfy!:D

    • Lindsay May 25, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

      I’ve noticed a crazy appetite after I run, but when it’s hot outside it’s like my app has a delayed reaction for a few hours until I cool down.

  2. blondeviki May 25, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    I love fajitas! Yours looks so delicious – I’m glad I didn’t see it before I cooked dinner, because I may have had a change of plan re: what to do with my chicken – and I had veg that was going to go past its sell by date if I didn’t use it!!

    I do feel very hungry after I run – but I’m being careful not to overeat – it’s very hard. I’ve been told that casual runners don’t need to stuff themselves full of carbs afterwards because we’re not burning enough calories during the run to justify it – and because I’m running to lose some weight, I don’t want to make all this effort just to remain at a plateau!

    It sure feels like I should be able to eat a big cake afterwards though 😉

  3. Helen May 25, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    I love fajitas sooooo much! I want one now!
    Swimming is such a great workout as it works all the muscles in your body. It’s not surprising that you were feeling hungry all day. I need to get a swimming costume so I can do some myself.
    After a workout I don’t usually feel hungry, for some reason exercise suppresses my appetite for a good 30 mins. But after that I am starving! Take today, I did a 5km run and had pasta and a chocolate treat and am still hungry!!

  4. Laura@keepingslimandgettingstylish May 26, 2010 at 6:54 am #

    I definitely find I get really hungry after running, it usually takes a couple of hours but when I’ve done a long run it really hits me. I haven’t had fajitas in ages, I’m trying to bring the Hubby round to liking peppers so I can make them more!

Leave a Reply

