Keen- Wah

23 May

I’m still trying to get used to saying keen-wah and not quin-o-a. My Mum keeps ‘correcting’ me the wrong way too which is funny! I keep telling her but she won’t listen 🙂

Breakfast

Shreddies, cheerios, cinnamon thingies, banana and skimmed milk.

Lunch

Salad of lettuce, cucumber, red pepper and cashews. Toffee yoghurt.

Dinner

Angela’s quinoa salad

I really enjoyed this, and have plenty in the fridge for lunch tomorrow!

I may keep it for my evening meal and stir-fry it with some chicken, we’ll see 🙂

Dessert

Strawberry Fro-yo 🙂 I love this stuff. It doesn’t make up for the envy I feel when my fave American bloggers go to fro-yo shops, but it is good!

I don’t have a broken foot

So today I met a friend of mine who has been doing great at getting to the gym and is making an effort to lose some weight. She’s been pretty overweight for some time and has been doing well. She’s going to Uni in September to study a really intensive course so she wanted to be physically strong and healthy. But she’s broken her foot. As it’s in a cast she can’t even swim! I feel so bad for her. She really is more bothered about how it’s hindered her progress, than about the pain or discomfort.

Lately I have been struggling to get to the gym. I keep making plans to go and making silly excuses or just choosing not to go on the day. It’s not good enough, I will not lose any more weight if I don’t do something active! So tonight I’ve been thinking, ‘I don’t have a broken foot’, and, ‘I am paying £30 a month on a gym membership’ I have no real excuse. The other way to look at it is: Exercise today because tomorrow you might have a broken foot.

What thoughts get you out for your workout?

12 Responses to “Keen- Wah”

  1. blondeviki May 23, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

    Coincidentally – my mum & I had the same debate over the pronunciation of quinoa, though I have always said quin-o-a, and she says keen-wah. (I’m not going to be the one to tell her she’s right!). I think it’s not helped by the fact some tv chefs say it wrong too – I got the quin-o-a pronunciation from Aldo Zilli.

    Where do you get the fro-yo from? I have been around the largest Tesco’s in my area and they don’t sell any, other than the odd B&J’s frozen yoghurts. I’d love some forzen natural yoghurt or strawberry yoghurt but no luck!

    That salad looks great – I’ll try that for lunch one day this week i think 🙂

    • thirtyandhealthy May 23, 2010 at 8:23 pm #

      The Fro-yo is from Co-op. They seem to only do the one flavour. I love Ben and Jerry’s cherry garcia fro-yo but can’t get it here unfortunately! I need to try making my own by freezing normal yohurt a couple of hours before serving!

  2. Jo@jagsfitnessblog.com May 23, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    It’s funny because if I say quinoa out loud, I pronounce it properly as keen-wah but if I think about it, in my head I call it quin-owa lol

  3. laura@keepingslimandgettingstylish May 23, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

    I’m really hooked on quinoa now, I just wish it was a little bit cheaper in the shops! When I first started exercising it was paying the monthly gym membership that really motivated me to go but then after some time I got used to it and it became part of my routine so now I feel weird if I miss a workout I’ve planned. I think it helps when I go straight from work rather than going home first (I would not move from the sofa if I did). I had a proper read of the Jillian Michaels article, I was shocked when she said about not wanting kids because of her body, theres so many women who have amazing figures after kids, its a sad attitude to have I think x

  4. Laura May 23, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

    I love froyo! I wish we could get better flavours and those awesome looking shops over here too… Maybe there’s a gap in the market..shame I’m not rich enough to open one up hehe

    • thirtyandhealthy May 24, 2010 at 7:34 am #

      We could get a business loan! We set up a chain and each open one. We’ll be the next Alan Sugars. Or at least that woman that opened Ann Summers!

  5. Katherine: What About Summer? May 24, 2010 at 1:17 am #

    where on mars are you getting these delicious products? the frozen yogurt and toffee yoghurt sound so good! (I’m a dairy lover in denial) I have never seen those brands before

    • thirtyandhealthy May 24, 2010 at 7:34 am #

      Ah they’re all British I’m afraid. I’m not sure they’d post well or I’d send you some!

  6. Helen May 24, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    I always used to say quin-o-a and was so surprised it was pronounced keen-wah! I’ve never had it though but do want to try it. I might have to make Angela’s recipe!
    I always say to myself that if i go to the gym / go for a run then I can treat myself the following day. It’s all about achieving a balance.

  7. hundredtenpounds May 24, 2010 at 6:54 pm #

    I recently discovered quinoa and I love it! I wish I’d discovered it sooner. 🙂

    And that’s a great motivator…I don’t have a broken foot…lol

  8. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear May 24, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

    Cashews in salad, how can I have gone on for so long without them?! thanks for inspiration! I must make a salad with them again soon, yum. I especially like cashews with melon and lettuce.

Leave a Reply

