Need a little lift?

18 May

Around half past 4 today I started getting sleepy eyed. This happens quite regularly, usually when I get home from work. Last week I read a post in Penelope Loves Lists about getting yourself out of a bad mood. She mentioned that when she feels like she’s lacking energy she drinks a glass of water and then brushes her teeth. Today I figured I’d try it 🙂 It totally worked! I used to have a drink of diet coke or coffee when I needed a boost but it seems that caffiene doesn’t affect me in the same way anymore. It sometimes even makes me more sleepy, in the way that sugary foods do.

Do you get hit with an energy slump in a typical day? What time does it hit and how do you remedy it?

When I get sleepy I know a walk would sort me out but I can never motivate myself to go!

9 Responses to “Need a little lift?”

  1. Lindsay May 18, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

    I usually hit the slump around 1:30. I guess that’s a normal time considering I get up at 4. I try to power through it or resort to a Coke Zero. Today was definitely a Coke Zero day!

    • thirtyandhealthy May 18, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

      I really dislike coke zero’s taste. Love diet coke and really love diet pepsi but I kicked the habit a couple of months ago so I only have them occasionally now. I find if I use diet pepsi to cure an energy slump the day goes downhill in terms of eats. I have about 8 cans in the fridge just incase of emergency situations though!

  2. Joanne May 18, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    Oddly enough, I get hit with major sleepy eyes after breakfast. I get really early, exercise, shower, eat breakfast, then get tired. Weird! The drive to work is totally torturous when that happens. In the afternoon, although I couldn’t workout out to save my life (the energy just isn’t there), my eyes are wide open and I’m feeling good.

  3. therabbitrunner May 18, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    wow thats so cool!! i will have to try this before I go running. Lately, after coming home from my internship, i just seem to have no energy.

  4. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear May 19, 2010 at 6:15 am #

    When it hits, it’s usually around 1pm a few hours after lunch, between meals. I don’t trink coffee or much coke / soda etc. so I usually have to get up and walk around the office so that I don’t actually fall asleep at my desk 😀

  5. Jo@jagsfitnessblog.com May 19, 2010 at 6:53 am #

    I go the water route too, it normally always helps. And playing music loudly (if I’m at home)always gets me out of a slump.

  6. Fit Chick in the City May 19, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    I totally crashed around 4:00 today too. I just need more sleep!

    • thirtyandhealthy May 19, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

      You do live a very active life! Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

