Tofu two ways

13 May

I am hurrying this post as it’s past my bedtime! I was babysitting tonight 🙂

Dinner last night

Baked tofu (marinated in Paul Newman’s BBQ marinade and overdone), potato wedges and carrots

Breakfast

Oatmeal:

1/2 cup oats

1/2 cup soya milk

1/2 cup water

tsp brown sugar

tsp cinnamon

in a pan over a medium heat, stirring occasionally until perfect texture 🙂

Toppings are an eighth of a stolen toffee costco muffin, dark chocolate chips, almond slivers and dessicated coconut. Heaven in a bowl!

Exercise

20 mins elliptical

5 minutes row machine

upper body resistance

15 laps of pool

Pleasure

steam, sauna and watching E! True Hollywood story of Kendra

Lunch

Burgen bread with PB, banana/toffee yoghurt/cheerio cruncher mess 😀

Snack

A big handful of these sweetened dried mango. They were a present from my Mum- she got them in costco when she was in the city. They are not cheap at £9 for that whole bag but they are delicious!

Dinner

Tofu stir fry with black beans sauce. I decided to see if I could get by without noodles if I just bulked up the veg.

When I was babsitting tonight my friend showed me all the food in the kitchen and told me to help myself if I got hungry. There was a cupboard filled with crisps and chocolate. I thought I would be able to resist as I had just eaten. I hadn’t realised they would be out till 10, or that I would get to be starving by 7! I ate dinner at 5:30! I looked for healthy options like wholegrain cereal, brown bread or fruit but couldn’t find anything so ended up eating a big bowl of frosties, crisps, a kitkat and a penguin biscuit at around 8. Unfortunately that just lit the salt and sugar cravings flame and I had to go back for another packet of crisps and a curlywurly! I think one of the reasons I got extra snacky was that my beautiful little babysiting charge is just starting  teething and is a cranky little soul. She had me stressing and taking her on tours of the house looking in mirrors and making up silly songs! I adore her but I was very pleased to see her Mum and Dad arrive home when they did 🙂

Lessons Learned:

I like wholegrains with my meals 🙂

Take a healthy snack when babysitting!

When baking tofu: 30 minutes at 190c is plenty of time!

I prefer tofu stir fried, rather than baked (when the baked tofu is burnt at any rate)

* Laura I just tried to comment on your blog (11pm Thursday) and it wont let me! I hope everything works out with your laptop and that smoothie looked lush 😉

It’s almost Friday!! 😀

XOXO

7 Responses to “Tofu two ways”

  1. Lindsay May 13, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    Yikes the teething will do it! I love how you shredded the carrots for your stir fry! So pretty!

  2. Jo May 14, 2010 at 5:29 am #

    I love that stir fry, it looks lush!

  3. gateauxbellehelene May 14, 2010 at 7:13 am #

    The stir fry looks great. The shredded carrots are fab! Don’t worry about the salt / sugar cravings, no wonder you turned to them with a teething baby to look after!

  4. Laura@keepingslimandgettingstylish May 14, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    Hi Jo, I got your comment so I’m hoping that means the comments are working, I don’t know whats up with them at the moment, thanks for giving me the heads up though! Your bowl of porridge sounded fantastic! I am much overdue a bowl that includes chocolate chips! I don’t blame you for hitting the snackies while babysitting, my nephew is still teething and he’s really challenging to look after bless him! x

  5. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear May 14, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

    Haha, that’s exactly what happens to me if I’m let loose in a place with all kinds of goodies 😀

    You’re so creative with tofu, I wish I would get the inspiration for making tofu too 🙂

  6. Laura May 14, 2010 at 5:21 pm #

    Ahh I remember babysitting as a teenager, they always used to leave me pringles and sweets and all sorts! Snacking must be synonymous with babysitting! 🙂 Don’t feel bad though a one off is nothing in the big scheme of things, by the way I got those other natural depression things from work, I’ve had them in my work trousers for ages and kept forgetting to get them out to write to you!

    Ginseng – general tonic, influences the nervous system

    High dosage of B vitamins – feeds the nerves

    Vitamine C 1000mg – it’s used up faster under stress

    Magnesium (and Calcium) – anti stress mineral, works with B6

    Damiana – produces a relaxed state

    Clary sage oil – in bath or on radiator, thought to help with depression

    ylang-ylang – essential oil, also good

    Hope that helps 🙂

  7. therabbitrunner May 15, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

    tofu + potato wedges = amazing dinner!! I love that combo and eat it frequently.

    the stir fry looks great too!

Leave a Reply

