Blueberry Muffins

12 May

Yesterday was sports day and it was not a nice day. It was freezing, my hands were numb, things went badly and I couldn’t wait to get home! When I did get home I found that my hands and feet did not want to thaw out so I did some dishes, put on my lovely warm slipper boots and put the oven on.

In the winter my Mum suggested that to stay warm, in my very cold flat, I should close the kitchen door and bake. So I’ve been doing that more 🙂 We all grew up with an Aga in our kitchen so were used to huddling round that when it was cold.

I looked for a good recipe for using blueberries I bought at the weekend and found a healthy one that I adapted a bit.

Blueberry Muffins

They are the  healthiest muffins I’ve ever had.

I preheated the oven to 220c

In a bowl I mixed together the dry ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour (I used wholegrain)
  • 1/3 cup white sugar (I used brown caster sugar)
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • and then stirred in the wet ingredients:

  • 1 cup milk (could use any kind, I used skimmed)
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil (I used olive oil)
  • I then folded in a cup of washed fresh blueberries. There was enough mixture for 12 muffins. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes. Mine were done in 20, I have a fan assisted oven.

    They are by no means the most attractive muffins I’ve ever eaten, but they were very tasty 🙂

    The best thing about these muffins is that there was no sugar high/crash. I ate one and loved it but did not feel the need to go for another. I made my dinner straight after.

    Chicken stir-fry with black bean sauce and brown rice.

    After dinner I went round to my parents as my brother was coming home from Glasgow for a couple of nights. They were just sitting down to dinner so I had a small amount of their dinner.

    Chilli on white rice. I love rice 😀 I never eat beef, that was the first time I’ve eaten it in 20 years. I just don’t really like the taste but I think I need to keep trying things, I don’t believe in cutting things out of our diets unless we are allergic or it doesn’t make us feel good.

    Today

    I’m not eating off a vent, I photograph my breakie on the heater as it’s a nice warm place to rest them while I take photos. I eat breakfast in bed with my laptop and lightbox 😀

    Breakfast today was a big bowl of cereal, I didn’t have time to make porridge before work and it was what I fancied.

    Snacks were:

    A banana (photo of banana guard for amusement of a certain polar bear who has the sense of humour of an 11 year old boy 😉

    Red Grapefruit 🙂

    Lunch:

    A wholewheat bagel with marg and marmite, a yoghurt and one of my muffins. The rest of the muffins are in the freezer to be taken out when I want a treat. I’m not sure how they will freeze but we’ll see!

    Dinner will be baked tofu and sweet potato discs I think, then I’m over to my parents again as we’re having a movie night 🙂

    Happy Humpday everyone 😀

    7 Responses to “Blueberry Muffins”

    1. Lindsay May 12, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

      I am beyond excited that I have everything for these muffins!! I’m so making these tomorrow!!!

    2. Angel31@keepingslimandgettingstylish May 12, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

      That muffin recipe sounds excellent, I may have to try making these as well! I love simple straight forward recipes like this x

    3. Louise May 12, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

      Yum, will definitely have to try those muffins, im not good at baking like all the Norwegian ladies over here, but il give it a go! 🙂

    4. gateauxbellehelene May 12, 2010 at 7:38 pm #

      I love blueberry muffins. I always feel healthy when eating them as they have blueberries in = instant health!!! I love your bowl of cereal too, especially as it features my cereal of choice , Shreddies! Hope you enjoy your movie night!

    5. Laura May 12, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

      Slipper boots are the best invention EVER! Those muffins look pretty good too 🙂

    6. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear May 13, 2010 at 11:08 am #

      Yay for the banana! 😀

      I love your wamr boots, they looks so warm and comfortable.

    Trackbacks/Pingbacks

    1. A bear with a sore foot « Thirty and Healthy - May 16, 2010

      […] Normal mix of porridge with half a huge banana, coconut and almonds on top and also half a blueberry muffin. […]

    Leave a Reply

