Overnight Oats

10 May

Last night I decided to give myself extra time this morning by making overnight oats. Usually I get up at 7 and make stove top oats but I had a busy morning as I had to go let my Parent’s hens out and get into work early.

So last night I mixed half a cup of rolled oats and a 125g pot of toffee yoghurt.

(Side note: as I write this I’m watching American Idol- Idol gives back, how much do I wish one of the Obamas were our prime minister! While the campaign and election went on last year I was living in Watford with 2 of my American friends, it was so much more exciting than our election!)

This morning I mixed in some milk and topped with some sliced banana, almond slivers and coconut.

No coffee today. I wasn’t a big fan of the overnight oats I have to say. Maybe I made them wrong but I just didn’t feel like oats should be cold and soggy at the same time! Cold and crunchy or hot and soggy. 🙂

So while I was rushing around getting ready this morning I somehow managed to stand on a bit of plastic or glass (no clue where it came from) which cut my foot and slowed me down. It wasn’t particularly painful all day but is sore when I walk on it now. Good excuse to sit down for the evening 🙂 Like I need an excuse!

I tried a different multi-vitamin which is an own brand asda one that I had in my cupboard for ages. It actually said it was out of date in April but I figure it’ll be fine for another month. I took it over 2 hours ago and I feel absolutely fine! Yay!

Thank you for your helpful comments on yesterday’s blog, one of the reasons I love having the blog! Jo pointed out that the flourescent wee is not a concern it’s just the excess vitamins being wee’d out. I had read this too, it was more the stomach pain and sick feeling that bothered me!

Sports Day tomorrow 😀 Providing the weather stays nice of course! I’m not actually working but I said I would go along and help out as these things are an organisational nightmare! In honour of the occassion I thought I would ask if you had a sports day when you were young, what events took place and if you won anything?

 Source

6 Responses to “Overnight Oats”

  1. Lindsay May 10, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    I couldn’t get into overnight oats either. I had such high expectations too. 😦

  2. Jo May 11, 2010 at 7:12 am #

    I’ve never tried overnight oats for this very reason – if I want cold oats I want them crunchy – I couldn’t think of anything worse than a cold, oaty mush in the morning 😦

    Hope your foot feels better and that you have now recovered after the dodgy vitamins xx

  3. Laura@keepingslimandgettingstylish May 11, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    I used to dread sports day at school cause I would always come last 😦 Its a shame your overnight oats failed. I’ve tried mine a couple of times and they haven’t been too bad but I guess proper oats will always win out!

  4. gateauxbellehelene May 11, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    Never tried overnight oats as I’ve heard such bad things about them! i agree with you, oats should be hot and soggy definitely not cold and soggy! I used to love helping out with the junior sports day when I was at school. The kids get so into it. I hope the weather is nice for you. I didn’t like sports day when i was in the upper school though as you HAD to participate and I was always picked for the 1500m!!! Not good!

  5. foodlovingpolarbear May 11, 2010 at 6:35 pm #

    We sure did have sports day and I hated them 😀 I was not a very sporty then and that’s also the reason I never won anything. Poor me 😉

  6. Katherine: What About Summer? May 11, 2010 at 8:53 pm #

    I played “maggot ball” as a four-year-old. my mom calls it this because kids follow and cling the ball during the games. I’m pretty sure my team most definitely did not win.

    Now a days kids who play t-ball etc don’t even keep score so no one wins. I’m not sure how I feel about this…

    and are you eating breakfast off a vent?

Leave a Reply

