Sheep counting

6 May

Thank you to everyone who left comments on last night’s post about being ‘on a diet’. Laura sums it up by saying that ‘being on a diet’  implies a short term situation, rather than a change for life. I’ve never really been a dieter, have never been on weight watchers or detoxed before. I really do want to develop life-long healthy habits, which will have the happy bonus of making me slimmer. 🙂

I’ve had a few restless sleeps this week and am in need of an early night.

 

When I was about 8 I found I was sent to bed before I was tired. I tried to count sheep but always felt the sheep were playing tricks on me and running back round to be countied more than once. So I used to read under my covers using a glo worm.

The only problem was; to light up my glo worm I had to squeeze it really hard and that was tricky while holding a book open. So I had to squeeze it between my knees. Now that I’m an adult, and live on my own, I can read all night if I want 🙂 I really would rather sleep though. I’ve found that the best way to get to sleep now is to breathe slowly and count backwards from 100 while imagining myself settling deeper into the mattress. Last year I was on sleeping tablets for a few months as sleep eluded me consistently and I was useless to anyone and everyone. I am so happy that now the odd sleepless night or few nights is all I need worry about 😀

I’m off to get some zeds, sure it’s only 8:30 but I have school in the morning 😉

Reader Question: What do you do when The Land of Nod has closed it’s gates?

5 Responses to “Sheep counting”

  1. Angel31@keepingslimandgettingstylish May 6, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    I used to love my glow worm! They should bring them back! Luckily I don’t often have a problem drifting off, I’m usually that knackered. When I do I usually try and have a little ‘day’ (for want of a better word, perhaps ‘waking’) dream to play out in my head till I drift off. At least then if it doesn’t work I’m slightly entertained by my total random thoughts! x

  2. Jo May 7, 2010 at 5:28 am #

    Oh, I always wanted a glo worm as a kid but never had one!

    My sleeping tends to be in phases – for a few days, it will be really good and sound and then I will have nights where I wake up 2-3 times and it drives me mental!

    It doesn’t help that my husband snores so I often get woken by him or if I wake myself, I can’t get back to sleep because of him so have to sleep in the spare bed or on the sofa.

    Since I started reading again before bed, my sleeping is a lot more sound and I drop off a lot quicker.

  3. Katherine: What About Summer? May 7, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

    I used to have a glow worm!!!! I loved it! oh nostalgia

  4. foodlovingpolarbear May 7, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

    It happens really rarely that I can’t sleep and usually I’m upset about something if that happens. I usually read, because that’s usually a sure way to get my to fall asleep 😀

  5. Laura May 7, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

    Aaah I used to read under the covers too, with a torch haha!

    Thanks for the advice on my blog, Mike rung up today to enquire, they seemed to think that since I had in a way been wrongly hired and was worse off money wise that it should be ok… I hope they’re right, maybe need to double check it first!

Leave a Reply

