On a diet

5 May

Not me- Kendra. I spent some time catching up with my sky+ box today nad found a new episode of Kendra. Does anyone watch it? Kendra was a playboy bunny and has just gotten married and had a baby. The show is by far my favourite reality show and I just adore her. Plus her baby is the cutest little kid in the whole world! Anyway the clip here is brilliant!

I laughed so much when I saw it. She has been trying really hard to get her figure back since she had her baby, especially as she had a magazine contract which meant she had to pose for post-pregnancy photos.

I was really bad today, I had 2 huge cookies that the kids at school made and then about 80g of milk chocolate after dinner. I did go to the gym but didn’t get much cardio done. Things are going a little downhill, my weight is back at 11st9, I just seem to be really hungry all the time and have been having food cravings. I need to try something new to give myself a kick in the ass. Somehow I don’t think a trip to a candy factory is the right kind of kick!

**By the way I hate the term ‘on a diet’, I refuse to say I am on a diet as it implies I’m eating in some way that is not normal, cutting out a food group or eating loads of one thing (not chocolate). I will never eat cabbage soup 3 times a day or subsist on protein for a fortnight. I will concede that I am eating more healthily (lets pretend I never admitted the whole cookies and chocolate thing)!

Reader question: Do you ever say you are ‘dieting’? If not (and you are losing weight/have lost weight) what do you say when people ask? 

Happy Humpday Everyone xoxo

11 Responses to “On a diet”

  1. misslulie@hotmail.com May 5, 2010 at 7:43 pm #

    I have never seen that show, I will have to check it out.. Im a bit of a sucker for reality tv!

    as for what I am saying to people.. i’ve only just started our and only lost a couple pounds, so people haven’t noticed yet but when (if!) they do, I will say “I’m cutting out crappy food!” 🙂

    • thirtyandhealthy May 5, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

      That’s a good one! I could try that but I might get some wierd looks when I then reach for another chocolate cookie! 🙂

  2. Jo May 5, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

    I loathe the term “dieting” and never use the word diet in my vocabulary unless talking about my diet as a whole.

    If people ask how I lost weight, I reply that I ate a healthy balanced diet and exercised. To me, diets imply a start and therefore an end, my plan is for life 🙂

  3. Katherine: What About Summer? May 6, 2010 at 12:16 am #

    I feel like I’m always on a diet; I’m always monitoring what I eat, I guess. It’s hard to reference my meals without talking about “diet”ary habits!
    Katherine

  4. foodlovingpolarbear May 6, 2010 at 4:48 am #

    I’m never ever on a diet, I don’t like the sound of it and I’ve never had enough willpower to actually hold on to a diet 😀

    I’m going to a candy factory today! YAY!

  5. gateauxbellehelene May 6, 2010 at 8:17 am #

    I love Kendra. She was my favourite Playboy bunny and I’m so glad she found a nice husband and has ‘settled down’! Maybe you need to find some healthy snacks…..it must be hard though with all the goodies that your kids bring in for you, I so wouldn’t be able to say no!! But also a little bit of chocolate once in a while never hurt anyone!

  6. Laura@keepingslimandgettingstylish May 6, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    I think the term being ‘on a diet’ is one of the reasons that so many people lose weight only to pile it back on (in the past this included me!) It denotes that it is a short term situtation, that eventually you’ll come off the diet, or that what you are doing is some how negative and your denying yourself. I hate the term! People need to understand that only long term lifestyle changes really work in the end, but I think a lot of people have a big problem understanding that. Some times I will use ‘I’am on a diet’ instead of explaining that I don’t eat certain unhealthy foods as sometimes that concept is easier for them to understand. More often when people ask about my weight loss then I’ll explain that I’ve made long term lifestyle changes including eating a healthy balanced diet and doing regular exercise, then their eyes usually glaze over and they change the subject! I find a lot of people just want to hear the diet horror story, Oh so you only ate 600 cals a day, wow etc etc!

    Sorry, mega long comment!

  7. Lindsay May 6, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

    I love Kendra. She is hysterical.

    I don’t say I’m on a diet. If anyone asks I just tell them I eat what makes me feel good. Of course this doesn’t mean I don’t indulge. Of course I do..I”m just trying the whole moderation thing.

  8. blondeviki May 6, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    I haven’t seen Kendra before, but that clip makes me want to have a nosy – what channel is it on?

    I don’t say I’m on a diet, I try not to talk about it too much at all because that makes me feel like I’m doing something different in a ‘abnormal’ way rather than the postive life change I’m trying to make! If quizzed I say I’m trying to eat as healthily as I can.

    • thirtyandhealthy May 6, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

      Kendra is ace, the show is on E. I have it sky-plussed but I think it’s shown on a Sunday night. 🙂

Leave a Reply

