Gigha on my mind

30 Apr

I used to live on a tiny island called Gigha. I had my first teaching job there and taught a class of 9 kids in a school of 26 kids. In Scotland we are given our first job and do not get to choose where. Bizarrly I had visited Gigha several times and had said that if I could live anywhere in the world, it would be there! I got my wish! The population at the time was 151, I was Miss 151! Unfortunately at the end of the year my contract was up and I had to leave. Tomorrow I am going back for the wedding of my friend Helen. The wedding is in the small church and the reception is in the village hall (where I shook my booty to Mr Brightside at crazy times in the AM on many occassions, and taught the kids PE, and took fitness classes . . .)

Source

I shall be back on Sunday with all the details and hopefully some photos.

Where would you live if you could choose anywhere in the world?

I think I would want to live in Newport, RI as I stayed there for the summer a couple of years ago and fell in love with the whole state!

4 Responses to “Gigha on my mind”

  1. Angel31@keepingslimandgettingstylish April 30, 2010 at 6:41 pm #

    That island sounds wonderful. I have a lot of family who live on Holy Island, my Dad used to stay there a lot when he was younger in the Summer and the way he described it always sounded perfect. I think if I could live anywhere it would be either New York (just the most amazing, energetic place I’ve ever been) or Brighton as my aunt lives down there and I’ve been visiting since I was a baby, I just love the way of life they have there!

  2. Lindsay April 30, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    Sounds like an amazing place. I think I’d live in Italy if I could choose.

  3. Laura May 1, 2010 at 9:06 pm #

    I’d love to live in Germany, I don’t like England much!

  4. foodlovingpolarbear May 2, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    Oh, that island sounds lovely. Have fun!

    If I could live anywhere in the world I think I would live in Germany or San Francisco 🙂

Leave a Reply

