Jo’s library

29 Apr

I had to pay the public library £4 for overdue books today. Oops!

My Mum has been on at me to empty my childhood bedroom, it’s had a cupboard full of my books and junk since I left home 13 years ago. last night I collected 2 boxes of stuff treasures.

Every time I came home after finishing a Uni course or a job somewhere I would clear out some old stuff and fill the shelves with new tat, like Uni books and gifts from pupils. Any parents who are reading please be aware that when I call the gifts from pupils ‘tat’, I really mean Terribly Admirable Things, or something.  Moving on . . .

Today I spent some time arranging my books.

In progress photos:

Before I went to teacher training I did a degree in Psychology- I have like 20 huge out of date hard back Psychology textbooks, some of them are on the back right there. I have no idea what to do with them!

Finished:

Ok, ok, I may also have spent some time playing with a photo editing website called Picnik that I am now 100% in love with! It would have made my header a breeze!

I also went through some old photo albums:

I had weight issues as a baby,

expressed myself through art and  . . .

competed in a national gymnastics competition.  Ok, ok, I was part of a group and I couldn’t even do a cartwheel. This photo was taken when I was about 11. By the age of 13 I had attended weekly classes for 9 years and still couldn’t do the splits so decided it was time to go!

I also happened to be pretty nifty on the old roller boots!

I also went to the gym (for the 1st time in a week) and did 20 mins elliptical, 10 mins bike and 30 mins of upper body work. I wanna be sore tomorrow! While I was on the bike I was watching Frank Bruno talking to Phil and Holly about his troubles with bi-polar disorder. He was talking about how people react differently towards you when you have a mental illness. An illness is an illness no matter where in the body it is, and yet people will send you flowers and well wishes if you have to go to the hospital with a physical illness. There are apparently very few flowers in a psychiatric unit. This makes me so sad. I don’t make a secret out of the fact that I have had mental health issues in my life. I’ve been diagnosed with depression twice and acute stress once and still have severe issues with PMS due to low serotonin levels. Thankfully it has never been so severe that I’ve been hospitalised and I’ve always had my family behind me. I’ve also never had to quit a Uni course and have only had to leave one job because of it. The job I left was very stressful and I was signed off work for over 4 months before I could leave my contract. At one point I tried to go back on a part time basis and they told me leave again because I was a wreck. I was not given a card to say goodbye or even a phonecall. I have lost count of the number of times I’ve heard people complaining about people signing off work because of ‘stress’ like they don’t believe it to be real. It is real! The current statistics are that 1 in 4 people have mental health issues at some point in their life. What they don’t need is for people to be doubting them while they are going through it. It makes me angry! Ok, ok rant over 🙂

Food!

That may or may not be banana bread crumbled on top of my porridge. Ok it was and it was lovely 😀

My town does not have a Subway so I improvised.

Mmmm I was so hungry after the gym that I could not take my time and take a decent photo!

I love grapefruit. It may be my new favourite fruit.

Dinner came in 3 courses:

Salad, a roll with marg and marmite and banana bread, banana and toffee yoghurt for dessert. The bread is getting dry 😦 I am STILL hungry! It’s like a back of the throat hunger- like I’m craving food. I’m doing my best to quash it!

Do you ever get that? Do you know why?

7 Responses to “Jo’s library”

  1. Angel31@keepingslimandgettingstylish April 29, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    Love your library and your lovely photos! I know what you mean about mental health, far too many people still can’t understand that it is just the same as having a physical illness (if not worse at times). Peoples understanding can just seem so limited, they should realise that a great number of people will suffer from some kind of mental illness at some point in their lives, hopefully peoples attitudes will start to improve. Stress inparticular can be so destroying, I can’t believe some peoples attitude towards it. Sounds like you are much better off out of that job with those people!

    Your eats today look very delicious too! x

  2. blondeviki April 29, 2010 at 8:47 pm #

    So many things to comment on! Where to start?!

    You changed your user pic – you’re so pretty 😀

    You are right about stress in the workplace, people can be very dismissive about it without seeing that their attitude, if anything, makes the situation worse…You are right to rant about it – it’s very insensitive. People don’t want to acknowledge stress though, especially in work because then the people up the top might have to make changes and they don’t like that. In many professions there are probably a lot of people who are unhappy/stressed to some extent or another, but they struggle on in silence. For the one person who finds it has all become too much, it’s really hard because everyone else is giving the impression that they’re fine.

    We could all do with being a little more open I reckon. It’s very like this at my work – everyone is so preoccupied with making sure they don’t damage their prospect of promotion that no one will dare say a negative thing about the awful systems we have to work with and the unrealistic expectations of the bosses or clients. They just do more and more – one girl left after staying til midnight regularly – the bosses knew but said nothing, they just wanted her to hit her target.

    Now I’m ranting!!!

    I love your bookshelves – the house we live in has those recessed bits too and I’d not thought to put shelves in them, but it’s such a good space saving idea and they look really good! Gonna get my tape measure out at the weekend and plan!

    • thirtyandhealthy April 29, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

      Ooh show me some photos of your house! I’m such a snoop! The pic of me is my favourite and is about 3 years old and I’m covered in make-up- I do not look like that usually!!!

  3. Laura April 29, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    I did gymnastics and ballet for a bit too… was never very good but I still wish I’d carried on! Never mind! Did you do a lot of exercise yesterday or today, my mega hungry days normally coincide with a long run!

    • thirtyandhealthy April 29, 2010 at 9:24 pm #

      Sorry if it’s TMI but my mega hungry days usually coincide wth the beginning of my period. I do notice that when I am exercising I get more hungry and probably eat more calories than are burnt!

    • thirtyandhealthy April 29, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

      Ooh and totally hadn’t pegged you for a ballerina!

Leave a Reply

