Mageirocophobia

18 Apr

Mageirocophobia is the fear of cooking.

How gorgeous is this picture? I want to be her, and have this be my kitchen!

She looks more like she is concocting a recipe than scared her food processor will eat her though.

Julia Child said, “I was 32 when I started cooking; up until then I just ate.”

I’m trying to learn to cook. It has to be done. Woman can’t live off pasta and frozen pizza alone. I’m going to try new ingredients like tofu, I already tried mushrooms! There will be trauma. There may be small fires. In the end, it will be worth it! Don’t be expecting the art of French Cooking- I ain’t de-boning no duck! I will start slow; learn to walk before I give myself food poisoning so to speak.

Sweet Potato Gnochi

I already tried Kath and Kristin’s sweet potato gnochi. I won’t share the full recipe as those girls say it better! Here is what happened:

I mostly followed Kath’s recipe in that I baked the potatoes first, instead of boiling them. I was making cookies at the same time so it made sense (check me out- kitchen goddess is what they’ll call me)

Then I mashed them up with an egg and some seasonings. This part was tricky as I don’t have a potato mashing utensil.

Next I stirred in a shed load of flour. Seriously kept going and going with the flour. I think my potatoes were too big, I should have weighed them.

I lost patience and they became too big and a funny shape, I seriously had too much mixture.

This is where I switched to Kristin’s recipe and froze them before boiling them. I spread them onto baking sheets and froze for 20 minutes before putting into freezer bags.

Before eating I removed them from the freezer, popped them into a boiling pan of water and waited till they floated to the top before putting them into a frying pan with oil and garlic. Gorgeous! Seriously these might be the nicest things I have ever made.

Some of them decided to stick together in the fight for life and were not able to be eaten. Maybe I didn’t freeze them for long enough before putting into bags. I am now so glad I have a freezer full of those little balls of doughy deliciousness. The frying makes them a little crunchy on the outside and then beautifully squidgy on the inside.

Stay tuned for more attempts at gaining the title:

 Queen of the Kitchen

P.s. do you love my new header? Took me ages that did 🙂

9 Responses to “Mageirocophobia”

  1. Laura April 18, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    Love the new header 🙂

    That gnocchi looks amazing.. I really want to try making it again but I’m a bit nervous after my last two flopped attempts! I’m mageirocophobic abour gnocchi lol!

    That’s really sad that your mum gave your guinea pig away 😦 I never cleaned my rabbits out when I was a teenager either… I don’t think any teen does!

    • thirtyandhealthy April 18, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

      Haha you need to get back on the gnochi horse! I wonder why yours didn’t work, mine was touch and go though. I’m glad you like the header I wasn’t sure about it really though I knew it was better than the last one!

  2. Angel 31@keepingslimandgettingstylish April 18, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    I love the new header! Very professional looking x

    The gnocchi looks fantastic. I’ve never eaten gnocchi nevermind tried to make it. Will have to give it ago some time x

    • thirtyandhealthy April 18, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

      This gnochi is nicer than any shop bought stuff so don’t be put off if you don’t like the supermarket stuff. Glad you like the header, David taught me how to use paint when I was staying with him 🙂

  3. blondeviki April 18, 2010 at 5:41 pm #

    Great header – I kind of cheated with mine and just used one pic – yours is very creative 😀

    One of the hardest things about deciding to eat healthily for me has been the realisation that a lot of the pre-prepared stuff they sell as healthy in the shops is still no substitute for making something myself. However, I’m not a very good cook either and though I really like the benefit of knowing exactly what is going into what I’m eating, it can be really frustrating because everyone else’s pics look so professional, but mine are well, not!

    The great thing is, we’re trying! I love reading what you have given a go and seeing how it turned out – so keep at it! 🙂

  4. thirtyandhealthy April 18, 2010 at 6:03 pm #

    I agree about trying to eat ‘real’ food. Luckily I do have time on my hands to experiment like this. I only work 2 or 3 days a week and have all school holidays off, I’m trying to be as productive as possible with my time. I spend far too much of my time reading blogs but if I can also fit in a work-out or 2 and some cooking efforts then it’s a start 🙂

  5. foodlovingpolarbear April 18, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    I learned how to cook when I was 24 up until that I only ate 😀

    Hihi, I also get scared of cooking if the recipe is too long or complicated. That’s why you never ever see any gourmet dishes on my blog 😉

    I want tha kitchen too, cute dishes!

  6. healthyamy April 22, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    I am so going to try this one, i love sweet potato. Thanks for sharing.

    I tried Tesco’s Gnocci not long ago and was not keen, it was like eating slugs! Maybe i cooked it wrong?!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A bear with a sore foot « Thirty and Healthy - May 16, 2010

    […] Sweet potato gnochi and […]

Leave a Reply

