Jo the Builder

17 Apr

Breakfast

My bananas weren’t quite ripe so I didn’t make porridge (just not the same without banana) and had shreddies instead. With OJ instead of coffee. Who is this pod person you ask?

 

Do you love my new Ikea place mats as much as I do? No? Oh well.

I got busy building another ikea purchase.

Can you guess what it is?

Now?

Me neither- had to break for lunch.

Cheese toastie salad.

2 oatmeal cookies from the freezer.

They were just as good after being frozen so next time I make them I am freezing them straight off the bat to prevent major munchies 🙂

 

At this point I realised I’d put a drawer runner on back to front and called my Mum for reinforcement!

Had a mocha while I waited for help to arrive 🙂

Help helped!

My new ikea tv bench, only cost £35 + £64 in labour costs 😛

Then I washed out my new ikea storage jars and tidied/re-arranged my kitchen cupboards.

To the untrained eye this may appear to be a messy kitchen cupboard. To me it is perfection, each shelf has a purpose; baking at the top, dried dinner type foods in the middle and porridge, dried fruit and nuts/seeds at the bottom.

More baking at the top, spreads in the middle and oils and condiments at the bottom.

Goodies at the top, spices in the middle and hot drinks and paper towels at the bottom.

My cupboards don’t end there, I also have one for extra stuff and one for cereals. My friend Rachel and her fiance manage to keep all their food in one cupboard!

Dinner

Cooled wholegrain rice (2 servings)

1 chicken breast chopped and marinated in soy sauce

soy sauce

1 egg

Mmmmmmmmmmmmm 😀

Evening Entertainment?

I have a date! With this man . . .

Is it me or does he look a little like Pierce Brosnan here?

I so would.

Just saying! 😉

 

 

 

8 Responses to “Jo the Builder”

  1. Laura April 17, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    ‘At this point I realised I’d put a drawer runner on back to front and called my Mum for reinforcement!’
    That made me laugh out loud cause me and Mike are just terrible at flat pack! Love the end result by the way!

    Sounds like you’ve had a mega busy day, your cupboards are looking really tidy!

  2. Katherine: What About Summer? April 17, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

    Hope you don’t mind a shout-out in my post! Mocha = the help that helps me 🙂
    Katherine

  3. fitandfortysomething April 17, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    oh i love your cheezie toasty salad! what a fabulous idea 🙂

    • thirtyandhealthy April 17, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

      Thank you, I took the idea from Iowa Girl Eats- totally forgot to credit her! Thanks for visiting!

  4. Angel 31@keepingslimandgettingstylish April 18, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

    I really need to tidy up my cupboards, yours look so well organised. I always feel like I have to take half the cupboard out to get to anything! Love the tv stand, totally worth the hassle putting it together x

    • thirtyandhealthy April 18, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

      Thank you! I’ll tell my Mum her help with the tv stand was worth it! My cupboards were driving me crazy too, I actually have mini steps in the kitchen to get to things at the back of the top shelves!

  5. gateauxbellehelene April 18, 2010 at 7:18 pm #

    Omg when I moved into our flat we literally bought up the whole of Ikea! We spent the next 2 weeks putting together furniture so got quite good at deciphering the drawings! My biggest achievement was building our desk all by myself! I love your cupboard system. I think yours are quite well organised actually! How does your friend fit all her food in one though??!

  6. healthyamy April 22, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    I love the wooden floor in your living room! Well done on building your tv stand, i would be clueless.

    Your kitchen looks very organised, i would be far too embarrased to show the contents of my cupboards (i haven’t got a clue what is lurking back there!)

Leave a Reply

