Glasgow on my mind

14 Apr

I am so tired! I haven’t slept properly in 4 nights, I like my sleep. last night I was stressing about something silly and never ended up nodding off until after 4am. David gets up for work at half 5 and I sleep on the sofa in the open plan living area so I wake up to him making his breakfast. I had planned on heading home today but last night I just felt I had to sleep as long as possible, only managed till 10.30 though. I’m now planning to meet my friend JT in Glasgow after he finishes work at 5, so I’m going into Glasgow this afternoon to look for fabric for cushions.

Back to yesterday. My friend Rachel and I got the train into Glasgow and had lunch at O’Briens (a sandwich shop), I had a panini with cheese and ham, onion and peppers. It was really nice and really filling. I wish they did paninis with wholemeal bread though. Then we mooched about the shops. Rachel is getting married in June so we looked at dresses for me and some table centres etc. for her. We then went to Debenhams and pretended to put together a wedding list for her. We ‘scanned’ the whole cupcake display.

That’s Rachel off to the left playing with a whisk. Her and her fiance mark don’t have a wedding list so I am struggling to think of a gift to get them. I doubt Mark would appreciate a cupcake themed gift!

We may also have wandered past a starbucks, I may have ordered a light mocha frap. If I did do that then I am positive it would have been delicious.

In the evening David and I went to dinner at Frankie and Benny’s.

I struggled over the menu. I wanted to get something healthy and low in calories. I settled on chicken penne arrabiata.

The colour hasn’t really come out- it was much more red. It was really delicious but I was really cross at how much oil I could see. It was positively glistening! I tried olives for the first time. They were ok but a bit strong, I only ended up eating 2, though I finished everything else. David was cracking up as I was being dead shifty taking a photo. The waitress must have seen me being all wierd and looked at me like I was mad and asked if everything was ok.

I was moaning to David about the oil in my meal (why is this amount of oil at all necessary?) so he made me take a photo of his meal so I could look virtuous in comparison!

I may have stollen a couple of his chips!

This morning, after I finally dragged myself off the sofa, I made porridge and coffee. I had no bananas left so I sweetened the porridge with a teaspoon of sugar.

The coffee has done nothing to wake me up- I’m still shattered! It’s a beautiful day here though so a walk around the city should liven me up a little.

Happy Humpday Everyone!

6 Responses to “Glasgow on my mind”

  1. Laura April 14, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

    I have been known to get my napkin out and mop up the grease before eating at restaurants…have to be sly though… it tends to get some odd looks if it’s spotted haha, my family are used to my oddities though so it’s not too bad! You keep making me want delicious iced drinks! I might have to make my own starbucks style frap today, not sure it’d be worth it though, it’s never the same!

    I’m totally loving that cupcake display… may have to take a trip to debenhams, I have a bit of a pastel cupcake theme running through my kitchen, started off by Mike cause he bought me an awesome pink bakery style chalkboard for my birthday a few years ago 😀 The boy’s got style 😉

    • thirtyandhealthy April 14, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

      Haha maybe I will get them some cupcake things then! Mike sounds like a real keeper 😉

      • Laura April 14, 2010 at 8:54 pm #

        Ooh you should try boxing, it’s loads of fun! You could try a local boxing gym, a lot of them do ladies only boxercise so you could get a feel for it without all the fighters there. To be honest though I was amazed how friendly it was, it sounds like a really scary place to go but it’s actually a lot more friendly than a normal gym cause there’s a lot of team spirit even though it’s a solo sport you fight for your club so everyone’s supportive 🙂

        🙂 I’m smiling about what you said about Mike, he is a good’un! 🙂

  2. foodlovingpolarbear April 14, 2010 at 5:00 pm #

    Sounds like you had a great trip and those eats definitely look good, I’m craving that pasta right now 😀

  3. Angel 31@keepingslimandgettingstylish April 14, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    I love that cupcake display too! Although if I had cupcakes around my kitchen I wouldn’t be able to think about anything other than cakes! I agree with you about the panninis, I wish more places in general offered wholemeal options x

    • thirtyandhealthy April 14, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

      I’m the same. My mum gave me an easter egg that came with a cadbury’s mug which I had to hide in the back of the cupboard. Temptations aren’t good!

Leave a Reply

