camera shy

8 Apr

Breakfast

In the mix:

1/2 cup oats

1/2 cup skimmed milk (had loads so wanted to use it)

1/2 cup water

1 medium banana (yep I use a whole banana in my oats!)

Toppings:

1t coconut

1t almond slivers

generous shake of cinnamon.

It wasn’t my favourite bowl of oats, I missed the crunch of grape nuts. Luckily there is always a tomorrow šŸ™‚

I also had a coffee. Remember when I used to drink those 100calorie moccas every morning? I have cut right down and usually just have a coffee with milk and 1 and a half brown sugars. I need some sweetness!

I was supposed to be going swimming today with my friend Kath, her wee baby, and kath’s sister and her kids. However, Fiona (Kath’s sister) is just getting over an ear infection and still doesn’t feel right so we are going to go for lunch instead. Then Kath and I are going to the gym. I’m not sure if I will have photos of my lunch because I don’t want to take pictures of my food in a cafe! I will tell you all about it though! I can see a diet coke in my future . . .

Do you drink coffee? If so do you add sugar/honey/agave or drink it unsweetened? I think I may need to get experimental. Have a lovely day people šŸ™‚

12 Responses to “camera shy”

  1. blondeviki April 8, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    Re: the other comment, yes I’m Viki šŸ™‚

    I used to drink coffee, I challenged myself to give it up about 2 years ago though – with a plan not to drink it for 3 months. Other than the occasional ‘posh coffee’, after dinner or out with work, I’ve all but given it up.

    It was really hard! I think I had a headache that went from the top of my head right down my neck and into my shoulders for about 3 weeks, and I missed the kick start in the mornings. It’s also very hard to resist the temptation of the mocha’s from the little shop opposite the office – they are so velvety smooth and taste divine – I kick myself that I only discovered them a week or so prior to my health kick, but I would hate to know how many calories are in them – I see them pouring in the cream and melted belgian chocolate….

    It was worth it though – I only drink decaf tea in the morning now, to substitute my need for a warm drink. I do sweeten that with half a brown sugar though. I can’t drink it unsweetened, don’t know why!

    When I used to drink coffee, I used syrup – you can buy little sticks of flavoured syrup fom big supermarkets, it gives you variety and I think you use less of them to get a flavour than you would need in sugar. You could think about giving them a try?

    • thirtyandhealthy April 8, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

      I don’t think I would have problems giving it up as I only have a cup with my breakfast usually. I did have a diet pepsi addiction until recently though! I was on 3 glasses a day and now I have a couple a week. I might have to look up these syrup sticks you speak of next time I am in Glasgow šŸ™‚

  2. Laura April 8, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    I drink my coffee black, but if I’m having a milky coffee like a latte or a flavoured one I like it sweet!

    I get a bit nervous of taking pictures of my food in front of people too haha, we’ll probs get used to it!

    • thirtyandhealthy April 8, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

      Ha! There was no way I was taking photos in the cafe today, there was about 10 of us at my table including 4 kids who would doubtlessly ask what I was doing!

  3. Caroline April 8, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

    I have a mocha from Nescafe (sachet) every morning and I love it! Not prepared to give that up. I only have at work as when I am at home I don’t have the time for it! Or just forget about it. And I use Agave to sweeten. I really like the taste. I also used it in my yogurt and other stuff to sweeten šŸ™‚

    xx

    • thirtyandhealthy April 8, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

      Ooh that’s what I love! I had one every morning until last week! I just thought I would start using them as treats because normal instant coffee is cheaper and has lower cals. The vote is out on agave for me, I put it in oats once and didn’t like it but I made homemade granola bars with it and couldn’t taste it. More experimentation to be done!

  4. healthyamy April 8, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

    I LOVE coffee! I sometimes have a tsp of brown sugar or a tsp of honey, depending on what i have in my cupboard – i just can not drink it unsweetened – yuck!

    • thirtyandhealthy April 8, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

      Mmmm coffeee. Wierdly I don’t think I’ve tried it unsweetened but I just know that if I go below 1 and a half teaspoons of sugar it just isn’t sweet and that’s not good! I only recently started liking it. Remember the coffee chocs in roses? They were always last to be eaten in my house growing up!

  5. foodlovingpolarbear April 8, 2010 at 5:55 pm #

    I almost never drink coffee. Only when I’m REALLY tired at work or on holiday and then it’s time for fancy coffee with syrup, cream and all the works šŸ˜€ I used to drink those fancy coffees every day while living in Germany and it’s really no wonder I gained 7-10kg in 6 months :S

    • thirtyandhealthy April 8, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

      Yeah if I lived near starbucks it would really be the end of my diet! Thankfully I have to drive 120 miles to get a decent coffee!

  6. foodlovingpolarbear April 10, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    Lucky us! I have to go to another country to get some šŸ˜€ so your diets are safe!

    • thirtyandhealthy April 10, 2010 at 10:14 am #

      If you want something in particular I can post something to you? What are you craving?

Leave a Reply

