Mushrooms and movies

7 Apr

So this evening a friend I fancied was coming round to watch DVDs. About 5 minutes after he friend arrived I decided I didn’t fancy him anymore! Not sure what I had been thinking. I had dated him briefly about 5 years ago and stayed friends who meet up from time to time (just as friends) I hadn’t seen him since December and between then and now I had convinced myself I fancied him again. Em no.

Back to this afternoon. Lunch was a fruit salad and a slice of toast with PB and snack was dried sweetened pineapple.

1 grapefruit, 1 orange and 1 kiwi fruit= yummy!

I really love this dried pineapple- they taste like sweets. Such a shame it’s sweetened.

Then I hit up Tesco!

Can you see the mushrooms at the front?

They were huuuge!

So I followed Amy‘s mushroom recipe and my dinner looked a bit like this:

Left-over veg from last night and the main event. I made 2 but decided to just put one on my plate as I tried them. I have to be honest and say I’m not sure I’m going to like mushrooms. It’s definitely a texture thing though, and not a flavour thing. The stuffing was yum and almost distracted me from the squidgy mushroom texture, I ate about 3/4 of this mushroom. Sorry Amy! Thank you for the recipe though, I can now say that I have grated bread and tried mushrooms! Every day’s a school day 😉

Thin before thirty (sorry I don’t know your name- is it Viki?) made Amy’s mushrooms too and has a good photo over on her blog!

I was kind of nervous about my friend coming (which was arranged at about 6pm and was not the reason I got my hair done 😉 ) so I didn’t eat much dinner. After he left at like half 11 I ate some snacks.

Mmm the last of my milk chocolate peanuts.

I know I should have went for a healthy snack. I was in a bad mood. Tomorrow I will be in a good mood as my friend and I are taking her baby daughter for her first swim 😀

I have promised Caroline that I will get up at a normal time tomorrow to stop the torture for you guys so I’d better hit the hay! Thank you all for the hair compliments and good luck wishes 🙂

13 Responses to “Mushrooms and movies”

  1. gateauxbellehelene April 8, 2010 at 8:35 am #

    oh no! After reading your last post I really hoped that your ‘date’ would go well. The best line in you post was ‘About 5 minutes after he friend arrived I decided I didn’t fancy him anymore!’ This made me laugh. I hope you aren’t put off mushrooms either. Their texture is a bit weird but I loooove them!

    • thirtyandhealthy April 8, 2010 at 9:05 am #

      Hey there, thanks for that 🙂 I’m not sure what to do next with mushrooms to be honest. Maybe I’ll buy some little ones and cut them really small into something!

  2. Angel31@keepingslimandgettingstylish April 8, 2010 at 8:53 am #

    Sorry to hear your date didn’t go as planned, at least your not bothered about him anyway! Your tescos haul looks good! Whats the soy milk like? I’ve never tried it as I like my rice milk so much but as my bloody supermarket has stopped selling it I might give the soy milk a try instead x

    • thirtyandhealthy April 8, 2010 at 9:03 am #

      Thank you! To be honest i don’t particularly love the taste of soy milk but in porridge you can’t taste it and I think it fills me up for longer! I don’t use it in coffee- it curdles! I prefer it to rice milk as it’s thicker, make sure to get the unsweetened one though. The ‘original’ one is sweetened.

  3. Laura April 8, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    Sorry the guy didn’t work out!

    I was vegan for about 5 years and I actually prefer soy milk over regular now maybe it grows on you!

    Enjoy the swimming today 🙂

  4. Caroline April 8, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    HAHA!! Thanks for mentioning me!! 🙂

    I like mushrooms but only in a sauce with other veggies. I don’t really like them stuffed. For some reason they taste differently and the texture is weird! 🙂

    Your food looks lovely…

    xxx

  5. Laura April 8, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    What’s your name so I can link you in my blog post where I’m listing the core challenge participants.. I can use your blog name if you’d prefer, let me know!

  6. healthyamy April 8, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

    Ha ha – it only took you 5 mins to decide you didn’t fancy him – you’re so funny!

    I am proud that you at least tried the mushrooms. I have a pack of smaller mushrooms in my fridge and am thinking what i can do with them tonight to give you a little more inspiration before you decide that mushrooms aren’t for you…hhmmmm…watch this space :o)

    • thirtyandhealthy April 8, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

      Thanks! I am doing a chicken stir-fry tomorrow with a chilli sauce, am thinking I might pop to tesco and get some button mushrooms and chop them small into the stir-fry!

  7. foodlovingpolarbear April 8, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

    Oh, I was a bit too late with my well wishes in your last post but it seems you didn’t need them in the end 😀

    Nice try with the mushrooms, they look very good! I would suggest that you put the mushrooms in pasta / omelette / other baked food so that the flavour doesn’t come through so much 🙂

    • thirtyandhealthy April 8, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

      Thanks hon, I think I’m going to chop up little ones in a stir fry! I think it was just a texture thing 🙂

  8. Angela @ A Healthy Fit April 9, 2010 at 12:49 am #

    I should really start using the word “fancy” more for things I like. Love it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mageirocophobia « Thirty and Healthy - April 18, 2010

    […] off pasta and frozen pizza alone. I’m going to try new ingredients like tofu, I already tried mushrooms! There will be trauma. There may be small fires. In the end, it will be worth it! Don’t be […]

Leave a Reply

