Pineberries?

1 Apr

Strawberry That Pines To Be Another Fruitย Source

How delicious does that look? Have you guys seen them before? Apparently they are being sold in Waitrose for the next 6 weeks and they taste like pineapple. I want one! I’m not sure we even have Waitrose in Scotland but if we do I’ll hunt it down!

April Ambitions

It’s a new month. Speaking of . . . you don’t think theย ‘pineberry’ was an April fool?

To me a new month is a great excuse to set myself some goals. I’ve thought long and hard and decided that my main challenge will be to travel 40 miles under my own steam. Using a mixture of swimming, ellipticalling, running, walking and biking. I have been slacking at the gym lately and I think this challenge may help. It may be an incentive to crack the ‘run a mile’ issue I’ve been having. The issue being that I still can’t do it ๐Ÿ˜‰ The other thing I am going to do is try one new recipe a week at least. I’m creating a new page to keep track of the challenge and Laura has kindly let me pinch her idea of having a tracker.

March Review

My main goal in March was to learn to run a mile. Currently I am able to run jog for 2 minutes and then walk for 2, for 20 minutes. I will not count this as a fail because that woud be mean! Instead I’ll just carry the goal forward with less time restrictions on it. I’m quite proud of the kitchen achievements I’ve had. I’ve tried new foods and to cook new things. I’ll also continue working on that, there are a fair few foods that I’ve still to try (I’ve never eaten a mushroom), and many many things that I still haven’t tried cooking!

Does anyone else have things they’d like to achieve in April?

8 Responses to “Pineberries?”

  1. Laura April 1, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    Oooh you’ve got to try mushrooms, they’re yummy ๐Ÿ™‚

    I order from waitrose online so if you can’t find one you might be able to book a delivery, I’m definately going to look out for those pineberries! They look really interesting! I hope it wasn’t an april fool haha!! It could be!

    My main April goal is to stick to my running training plan so I can complete the half marathon in June! Scary stuff hehe!

    p.s. thanks for mentioning me ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. foodlovingpolarbear April 1, 2010 at 10:19 am #

    I like the recipe challenge! ๐Ÿ™‚ and you definitely have to try mushrooms, they’re yummy!

    Those Pineberries look interesting, I would like to try one as I’ve never seen one before. Could it be a April Fool? ๐Ÿ˜€

    I like the idea of a separate page, April Ambitions sounds so cool!

  3. Caroline April 1, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    I am gonna go to a Waitrose to find out about these pineberries … And hope it is not an april fool!! They look really yummy!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Keep going with your running! You are doing well!

    xxx

  4. Angel31@keepingslimandgettingstylish April 1, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    I need to re jig my training plan for April tomorrow and hopefully I’ll set myself some targets in that, probably going to be running orientated! I’ve really loved trying out new foods and recipes, so hopefully I’ll be doing more of that in April x

  5. gateauxbellehelene April 1, 2010 at 10:39 pm #

    Hmmm I’m not sure about those berry things….sound a bit weird to me!
    I love your april ambitions, I might start some too. I hope you eat mushrooms as they are lovely! Maybe try some in a cheesy sauce or just fried in butter on top of some toast….

  6. healthyamy April 2, 2010 at 10:30 am #

    Running/walking for 20 mins is certainly not a fail – it is an acheivement! Keep at it, that is exactly how i learnt to run, you will be running a half marathon before you know it!

    Wait a minute – you have never tried a MUSHROOM? I always thought people from Scotland were strange (only joking). They are lush!!! I eat them ALOT. I love them as a side with a little butter and garlic.

    My April Ambition is to start the day with a massive, positive smile when i look out of the window and i see black clouds and rain!

  7. healthyamy April 5, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

    Ok, i’ve bought some button and flat mushrooms today to help you on your way to mushroom heaven. Hopefully i will have something delicious to present to you later today on my blog!

Leave a Reply

