zzzz

31 Mar

Did you manage to look at that picture without yawning? I can’t!

I am soo sleepy! For some reason last night I was full of energy at 11pm. I was lying in bed but my head was buzzing. It felt like someone had put a line of Irn Bru straight into my bloodstream. Totally high! I have no clue what time I fell asleep but when I woke up at 7am there was no way I was going to get up without a ‘snooze’ first. I’m not normally much of a snoozer as it can get quite dangerous- the alarm tone on my phone becomes incorporated into my dreams and I come-to about an hour later without realising time has passed. This morning I snoozed 3 times. I went without my normal banana porridge and had a bowl of Special K instead.

Morning Break was a large banana. Lunch was salad, toast with PB and a home-made oat energy bar. Up until this point I didn’t feel too hungry.

I finished teaching at 2pm. At this point I had planned to come home, eat a large fruit salad and a yoghurt, then potter before going to the gym. Plans changed when I discovered we were to have a staff meeting that would run until 5. So I ate some nakd cherry infused raisins.

Who knew raisins could taste so amazing? I like raisins, and I like cherries, but these are something else entirely. Have you ever had those cherry sweets from the cinema/woolies/tesco pic’n’mix? Better than those!

So the raisins didn’t fill me up. I had lots of energy though and spent the next hourย organising the classroom I was using. I then ate a Berry Cheeky nakd bar:

So that kind of did the trick and I wasn’t ‘hungry’ anymore, but I was in need of something. So I raided the staffroom and ate a biscuit. Then during the meeting I ate another 2. That was fine but I didn’t get home till half 5 and by that point I was starving! So I have been snacking on cereal, toast and chocolate since. I’m not sure I am full yet but I can’t tell that I’m not just craving sugar. I get myself on such a sugar spiral!

The intense hunger could be due to the lack of protein or the sugar. I think the lesson I’m going to take away is that I’d prefer to have my porridge and 30 minutes less sleep. Then I need to make sure my lunches pack more protein too.

I’ve just finished a diet pepsi to try and wake me up a bit; it’s not working! What are your hunger triggers? How do you stay alert in the evenings when you start to feel sleepy? I hate falling asleep in the evening as it buggers up my whole routine. Sometimes I go for a walk but it is sleeting outside and very cold!

In happy news- I’m on holiday! Woohoo! No more work for 2 weeks ๐Ÿ™‚

Ooh while I have Irn Bru on my mind I have to share this amazing advert for Irn Bru that came out last year. It is one of my all-time favourite adverts.

8 Responses to “zzzz”

  1. foodlovingpolarbear March 31, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

    a 2 week holiday? lucky you! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Uhhuh, getting sleepy in the evenings is tricky, I usually eat something to make me stay awake and take a shower, if it doesn’t work I surf internet or take a nap I shouldn’t ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. foodlovingpolarbear March 31, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

    ps. that little kitten is SO cute ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. thirtyandhealthy March 31, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

    Ooh I so wish I had a shower! I only have a bath in my flat. I use the shower at the gym whenever I go because I love showers! I need to look into foods that make you stay awake. Maybe more raisins would do the trick!

  4. Angel 31 March 31, 2010 at 8:05 pm #

    I was just thinking about those cherry infused raisins today, they are lush. I was the opposite of you last night, I was knackered and went to bed early but woke up at 4.20 with my mind buzzing and never got back to sleep!

  5. Laura March 31, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

    Well I didn’t yawn but I did awwwww! Cute pic!

    I love those nakd cherry raisins too, they are totally better than sweets hehe yum!

  6. healthyamy March 31, 2010 at 8:54 pm #

    Ha ha – i love that video! They didn’t show that advert in England and it is soo funny, especially the guy that warbles right at the end.

    The kitty is so cute and looks a bit like my fur baby Foxy.

  7. Laura March 31, 2010 at 10:00 pm #

    I make my own applesauce, it’s really easy, just chop apples, pop in a pan cover with water cook until soft and then blend in a smoothie maker, really easy and cheaper than buying it ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Laura March 31, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    Go for it with the tracker, I found it online, it’s not mine so no need to reference but thanks for checking ๐Ÿ™‚ Look forward to hearing about the challenge ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

