Trying new things

30 Mar

I tried 2 new things today.

New thing number 1

I made falafels! I have never even tried falafels before! I used a recipe from this book:

I nicked the book from my Mum’s at lunch-time. I was working in a school near her house. I also nicked a sweater as the classroom I was in today was 13degrees C! The kids were hoping to get sent home (I may have been hoping for the same . . .)  A trip to tesco was called for to get some spices:

which I blended with the chickpeas using a hand blender- not fun. The recipe called for a food processor but I don’t have one. I was tempted to try to use my smoothie maker but opted for the hand blender thingy. It took some time but this:

turned into this:

Then this:

The recipe wierdly made 6 servings. I halved the recipe and intended to have enough for 2 meals.

In the fridge for an hour while I tried ‘new thing number 2’

Coated in flour and fried for 5 minutes each side.

I didn’t love them. I’m not sure if that’s because I don’t like chickpeas (hadn’t tried them before), or if I don’t like falafels, or if it’s just the recipe I don’t like. I’m going to have the rest tomorrow in a wrap or pitta with some sweet chilli I think. Maybe I’ll like them more then.

New thing number 2

I arrived home from tesco to discover this on my doorstep:

A foam roller! I mentioned before that I have been having problems with my shoulder for some time. Part of the problem was muscular but mostly it’s damage done, over time, from poor posture. I think this will help. I got it off Amazon for £13. If you are thinking of getting one I have one piece of advice. Move all nearby furniture.

Especially rocking chairs with pointy wooden rockers.

I got a boo boo! I fell off the roller. Check the Mum sweater I’m totally styling. The pink is a blanket that’s just sat on the couch.

I had such a good day, apart from being cold and getting hurt and not liking my dinner I enjoyed my day! Ugh also, my car is flooded! The seal on the driver’s door seems to be damaged somewhere, I spent half an hour tonight with my Dad mopping up the water and looking for the leak. Yet I am still smiling. This good mood may have something to do with the fact that my 2 week Easter holiday starts after school tomorrow!!! Plus I have a friend coming to stay this weekend 🙂

Have you tried a foam roller? Do you have any more advice? I need to take a look online for some exercises I can do with it. Have a lovely evening peeps xx

4 Responses to “Trying new things”

  1. foodlovingpolarbear March 31, 2010 at 5:31 am #

    I’ve never tried a foam roller and it sounds dangerous 😀

  2. Angel31@keepingslimandgettingstylish March 31, 2010 at 7:06 am #

    Ouch! That looks like a nasty bang! I havent tried a foam roller before but wouldn’t mind giving them a try as I get more achey! I’ve fancied trying to make falafel for a while but I guessed that they would probably taste similar to my bean burgers which I have now perfected so I think I’ll stick with those till I get bored with them. I can imagine it tasting good with the sweet chilli though x

  3. Laura March 31, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    I’ve never made falafels before I always buy them, yours look really good though so maybe I should give them a go! The hand blender was a good choice over the smoothie maker, I’ve tried to blend them in a smoothie maker before and it wouldn’t work without some liquid and lots of time!

    I’m looking forward to hearing more about the foam roller, I’ve never tried using one but I’ve heard good things about them on a few other blogs.

    p.s. not feeling too sore yet, we’ll see how the run goes haha!

  4. healthyamy March 31, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

    Ouch – that bruise does not look good – poor you!

    I like Mary Berry but maybe you should try falafels from the supermarket first so you can compare them against the ones you made. I always buy cauldron falafel in Tesco, your branch may sell them.

    It’s funny because i have a water feature in my car too from the drivers door seal, i have to drive sat at an angle sometimes to stop my legs getting hit from the drip – it must look so funny looking in from the outside! I guess it’s expected when you drive an 11 year old Fiat Punto! LOL

Leave a Reply

