Overindulgence

28 Mar

Last night/yesterday I treated my body like one of these:

I met my friend and her boyfriend for cake at 3. I ate a huge slice of chocolate fudge cake, it was heavenly. I also drank a diet coke. Then we went and met another friend for a pub quiz, it was supposed to start at 4 but didn’t start till half 5. It was the worst organised quiz I have ever known, the machine with questions on it broke after the first round so then they had to use the kareoke machine to make a ‘name that tune’ second round. They totalled up the points and presented the prize to the ‘winning’ group and then read out the rest of our scores. Well, they hadn’t totalled our 2 rounds scores together! We pointed this out and she said, ‘oh, well you won then’. But we told her not to tell anyone and we didn’t mind. The ‘winning’ team were so chuffed! During the quiz I was geting hungrier and hungrier (I usually eat dinner at 5) and drank another diet pepsi and an orange juice with lemonade. It was 8 o’clock before we were heading home but I knew I was meeting a couple of friends in another pub at 9 so I went and picked up a chinese. Over the rest of the night I also had another 2 diet pepsis and 2 vodkas, 2 packets of crisps and a twix. ooops!  I’m not beating myself up about this- 3 months ago that could have been a typical Saturday so it just reminds me how far I have come.

I can accept the cake and the chinese as treats but I don’t know why I ate the crisps and chocolate, by then I surely wasn’t still hungry.

Today my plan is to detox as much as possible with lots of water and hydrating fruit and vegetables. I made a jug of lime water for the fridge to keep drinking all day:

I need to flush out the salt from the chinese and crisps!

Tomorrow is my supermarket day but I really need some more fruit and veg for today. I’m not sure whether to go and do my weekly shop or go pick up a few things and go again tomorrow. Tesco is only 5 minutes away. The fruit and veg is always better on a Monday morning than on a Sunday. Hmm dilemmas! Today I also need to hoover, clean the bathroom and wash the kitchen floor. I can’t believe it’s already after 12!

Do you ever overindulge in the wrong foods? What do you do next?

5 Responses to “Overindulgence”

  1. Angel 31 March 28, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

    I sometimes have those over indulgences and its so annoying when you look back and think why did I eat that? I could have said no or choosen something else but instead I stuffed my face. Oh well it happens! I think the best thing is not to beat yourself up about it. I try and look at why I did what I did so I can learn to avoid it next time. Then I do exactly the same as you are and I try and have a ‘clean’ day were I eat as well as possible xx

  2. Rachel March 28, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    Lots and lots of lemon water and a green monster usually works.

    I’m a great believer in not punishing myself for it though. We’ve all gotta kick back now and again… 🙂

  3. foodlovingpolarbear March 28, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    Water with lemon/lime is delicious 🙂 and hey, we all do the same. I’m used to eat a lot of junk food but now I do it very rarely and when I do I enjoy it 😀 my other vices are candy, chocolate and coca-cola. I try to limit my consumpion and have them as treats, but sometimes I just don’t have any willpower. Oh well, such is life 😉

  4. foodlovingpolarbear March 28, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    Oh and have you made any progress with the book? 🙂

    • thirtyandhealthy March 28, 2010 at 10:53 pm #

      Eh no it’s currently hiding under my bed. Is it really sad? I don’t know if I can handle sad! Even How I met your mother had me crying today. marshal and Lily are just so cute together! What are you reading now?

Leave a Reply

