Earth Hour

27 Mar

Tonight I have a chance to be green for an hour. I could do this by eating a load of mars bars then watching The Texas Chainsaw Massacre. Though I prefer the conventional idea of turning the lights out for an hour (I’m not very good with horrors).  Apparently this has been going on for 4 years but it’s the first I have heard of it. People are asked to turn off their lights at 7.30 local time, if they can, for an hour. The event is aimed at raising awareness and people are asked to use the time to think about how they can live in a more environmentally friendly way. I am going to a pub quiz in aid of Breast Cancer Research at 4pm so don’t know where I’ll be at 7.30 but if I’m home I’ll take part. I really like candle-light anyway. Check out Greenwala for more details.

What are your plans for this evening?

2 Responses to “Earth Hour”

  1. foodlovingpolarbear March 27, 2010 at 6:11 pm #

    I heard about Earth Hour last year for the first time but can’t remember if I turned the lights off 😀

    I’m staying in tonight, I have 0 energy to do anything and my arms and feet / legs hurt from carrying all that stuff around today. White wine+ Ben &Jerry are entertaining me along with American Idol 😉

  2. foodlovingpolarbear March 28, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    Hey! a while ago you asked how to get rid of the Just another WordPress.com weblog-text.. here is the answer: Go to your dashboard and then settings and you see a page called General Settings and there you can delete it or write something yourself 🙂

Leave a Reply

