Feet off the seats

26 Mar

So last night I went to see Percy Jackson- I realy enjoyed it but the first 5 minutes made me giggle as it was so corny. It got better though! It kind of reminded me of Harry Potter, in a good way. 2 of my friends came and I brought them both granola bars but they didn’t mention whether they ate/liked them. I got quite offended!

I’ve eaten 2 today though and adore them so not so offended anymore!

I forgot to take water to the cinema, and they didn’t have any plain water so I bought this:

This bottle should have written in huge letters on the front: 103 calories per bottle! I bought it assuming it would be calorie free. I couldn’t check before buying as it was behind the counter. One of my friend’s that I met at the cinema has been upsetting me recently. She had been avoiding me, texting back late and generally not getting in touch much over the last couple of months. When I pointed out the calories in the water she said, ‘see this is why I don’t spend more time with you’ and turned to the other friend and said, ‘she told me the calories that were in wine a few weeks ago’. That’s all I’ve said- I have only mentioned the calories in 2 things. She’s been trying to lose weight but is now heavier than me, because she keeps gaining and I’ve been losing. When I met her last week I hadn’t seen her in weeks. I said, ‘how are you?’ and she said, ‘fat’. She is always fat-talking which I hate but I don’t stop her from doing it. She knows I go to the gym and have impoved my diet but I don’t harp on about it.

Have any of you had friend issues due to dieting? I guess that I just have to keep quiet about diet related stuff altogether with her. I don’t want her getting upset because of me. Any advice would be appreciated. I don’t have any friends that are interested in food, exercise or weight-loss really.

The title of the post is because yes I did get a row from an usher for having my feet on the seat in front!

6 Responses to “Feet off the seats”

  1. healthyappletite March 26, 2010 at 8:19 pm #

    This is a tricky situation. i think it’s mainly down to jeaousy because she wants to lose weight but is gaining and you’re not. She also might be taking your calorie pointing out as a dig against her.

  2. Angel 31 March 26, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    I’ve been there with one of my friends, its difficult when they get like that. It does sound likely that its a bit of jealously from her. It makes you paranoid when some one says something like that, you start doubting yourself and worrying that your talking about diet all the time. If you’ve only ever said it once she’s definitely over focusing on it, your success probably makes her look at her own dieting failures. With my friend I just didnt bring up any diet / fitness related stuff, however she would bring it up instead! Some times you can’t win! x

    • thirtyandhealthy March 26, 2010 at 8:46 pm #

      Thanks! I just wanted to hear that other people have been in the same situation I think. It’s the great thing about food/health blogging- you can chat away about diet type stuff and not worry about being a diet bore! I am very sensitive about friendships because since I moved here a year ago I’ve been working quite hard at cultivating a strong support/social network. x

  3. gateauxbellehelene March 27, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

    I’ve been there too with one of my friends. When I was at uni I had a bad relationship with food and was quite skinny. My best friend at the time was a little heavy for her height so wanted to go on a diet. She kept saying ‘I want to be as skinny as you’ and felt that she could relate to me as she suddenly cut ou a lot of food in her diet. I battled through my food demons and became a healthy weight but she kept not eating a lot during the day. She did become quite skinny and used to try to talk to me about my weight but I wasn’t interested as I didn’t want to go back to what I was before. Due to that we drifted apart. She used to say that I wasn’t interested in her anymore and her attitude suddenly changed towards me. She didn’t realise that eating healthily and going to the gym was what she needed to do. Maybe she was jealous that I managed to tackle my food deamons…..who knows. I hope your friend starts to treat you better. There is nothing wrong with looking at calories (if you don’t obsess over them), you are only trying to be healthy.

  4. foodlovingpolarbear March 27, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    I’m so sorry to hear about your situation. I’ve never had something similar, but have had other issues with friends. They’re never nice!

    Keep your head up, you’re doing a great job!:)

  5. healthyamy March 31, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

    Oh dear sounds like your friend is taking it all out on you. Don’t let it get you down, i think your friend is quite sensitive if she gets upset by you mentioning calories in things (i mention calories approx a billion times a day – she would hate me!)

    Maybe you should get the air cleared and ask her what the problem is? If she is gaining weight it is not your fault so she should not be angry with you – i hope your friend treats you better soon x

Leave a Reply

