home-made cinema snack

25 Mar

This afternoon I decided to skip the gym in favour of playing in the kitchen. Very naughty! A couple of days ago I made plans to go to the cinema with a friend. We have a little cinema in town, with about 200 seats. It plays one film a week, once a day at 8pm. This week it’s playing Percy Jackson and the lightening thief. I’d never heard of it before but we tend to go see anything thats on that wasn’t made for 5 year olds. And sometimes those films too. My friend is dieting at the moment so I said I would bring snacks. Bad idea!

I followed this recipe to make homemade granola bars. I made a few changes due to lack of ingredients though. Instead of a cup of flaked almonds I used half a cup (I ran out) and half a cup of mixed chopped nuts.

They said any kind of dried fruit so I used what I had. These dried pineapple bites were so lovely. Then I looked closely and saw they were sweetened! The bag on the left is dried cranberries, I adore them.

The recipe called for half a cup of honey but I only had a quarter cup so I topped it up with agave.

1/2 cup of honey/agave and 1/4 cup of brown sugar meant these are quite sweet and not terribly healthy!

There is supposed to be half a cup of wheatgerm in there but I didn’t have any. What do you think that would have been for?

I trimmed the paper before putting in the oven. Putting it in paper and then ‘cutting it’ with a spatula, before baking, helps get it out of the tray in bars at the end.

The smell in my kitchen made me think I was in heaven, or at least the local bakery. My mouth may have produced saliva. I may have licked the spoon . . . and the bowl . . .

If you try to take them out the tray before they are completely cold they will fall apart.

These are so heavenly, I can’t even tell you!

Would it be evil to let my friend have one thinking they are healthy? Or shall I just take her a banana and keep them all to myself? Mwahahaha 😉

 Enjoy your night!

4 Responses to “home-made cinema snack”

  1. Tamizn March 25, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

    Yummy! x

  2. foodlovingpolarbear March 27, 2010 at 7:23 am #

    oh! thanks for sharing, I have to try and make those 🙂

  3. healthyamy March 31, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    You’re so funny! Did you actually have any of the right ingredients?!!! I do exactly the same and usually it comes out really good and can never recreate the recipe because i chucked everything into the pot!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. When hunger strikes . . . « Thirtyandhealthy's Blog - April 1, 2010

    […] at 5 so I had a big snack at 4.30. I was so hungry by that time anyway so I had my last home-made granola bar and 4 crackers- 2 plain and 2 with PB. I was still hungry! I kind of thought maybe I just […]

Leave a Reply

