What’s for dinner?

24 Mar

Workout

Today’s gym session was a bit of a sad state of affairs. Before I went I hunted for my sports bra and couldn’t find it. So I went to the gym knowing I couldn’t run, to be honest I really need to be refited for underwear since I’ve lost a couple of inches and I hate feeling like my underwear isn’t doing it’s job! I’ll post what I did do on my exersize page but it’s pretty glum reading! My knees were sore on the bike for some reason and my calves were sore on the elliptical, I felt like I was falling apart! I never know how much to push through the pain and when to stop to prevent injury. I guess I’m nervous because I tore my shoulder muscle in January and kept doing weights and whatnot because I didn’t realise, then it took forever and loads of ultrasound before it healed.  

Dinner (tea)

When I was a kid we called dinner ‘tea’ but we never called lunch ‘dinner’. I have no idea why I stopped saying ‘tea’. What do you call lunch and dinner?

Wholemeal pasta, arrabiata sauce, chedder cheese- grilled. Incase that makes me look lazy just know; there was a side dish 🙂 . . .

Sweet Potato discs! I always buy the long thin sweet potatoes for roasting, as they are easier to cut into discs, and fat rounder ones for baking. Sorry potato didn’t mean to be un-PC. Sweet potatos were sprayed with olive oil 1 cal, spread onto tinfoil (better browning) on a baking sheet and cooked for 35 mins on 200c. Flipped halfway through. Usually I’d give an extra 5 or 10 minutes on 250 as I like them really mushy with sap oozing out of them, tonight I was feeling the hunger.

 Carb-alicious. Notice a colour missing? Me too. Maybe I should make a green monster to make up for it! There will definitely be dessert of some kind involved. Strawberries are calling me . . .

I’m only working in the morning tomorrow so I’m hoping to have another gym session or a swim 🙂

I hope you all had a great day (and tea) X

7 Responses to “What’s for dinner?”

  1. Rebecca @ How the Cookies Crumble March 24, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    I love that you call dinner “tea”. For me dinner is dinner, lunch is lunch, and breakfast is breakfast. And brunch means they’ll be alcohol involved with my breakfast/lunch. 🙂 Bloody Mary, anyone??

    • thirtyandhealthy March 24, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

      Haha! That’s great! For me brunch means a hangover and a slice of toast! I don’t think the going out for breakfast craze has hit Scotland, though I did it a couple of times when I was living in England last year 🙂

  2. Angel 31 March 24, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

    Calling dinner ‘tea’ takes me back to when I was little, thats what we always called it at my grand parents. That pasta looks nice, I haven’t had pasta in ages, I think I’m afraid of all the carbs which is just daft. I have a cupboard full of whole wheat pasta just calling out for a nice simple tomato sauce, yum!

    • thirtyandhealthy March 24, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

      Ooh do you make your sauces yourself? I really want to get into the habit of doing that. I’ve never made a pasta sauce before, I’m so scared of getting thngs wrong and being left with no dinner!

  3. foodlovingpolarbear March 25, 2010 at 5:29 am #

    Hehe. For me lunch is lunch etc. too and brunch is usually also something with hangover and too much food 😀

  4. Caroline March 25, 2010 at 10:19 am #

    Great post!! HA … For me too breakfast is breakfast, lunch is lunch and dinner is dinner. And for me too brunch there is always alcohol involved!! Not too sure why that is 🙂

  5. gateauxbellehelene March 25, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    I always call dinner tea ever since I was small. I think it was because my grandparents used to call it tea and my mum calls it tea so I do. My bf hates it though as for him it’s dinner. I love winding him up about it!!

Leave a Reply

