Miss Dahl . . .

24 Mar

Sophie’s cooking show

Last night I went round to my Mum and Dad’s house to visit and watch the new cooking show. I arrived just in time for dessert- a slice of carrot cake and 2 chocolates. My parents are very healthy eaters but like to have dessert once in a while, there is usually nothing sweet in the house unless it’s Christmas. I used to love Sophie Dahl. Maybe because she was plus sized, maybe because she had a such an amazing grandfather. I still like her, I don’t like the BBC who made her look like she was loopy, and totally affected. It all seemed a bit like bad acting 😦 The recipes she showed were ok; the PB fudge would be lovely to eat but soooo deadly, the sweet potato chips were just as I make them except she drowned them in oil when I find 5 sprays of 1 cal is all I need, the cherry compote looked pretty good but pretty sinful. My Mum sat to my left and my younger brother to my right and they were heckling the whole way through! Mum related Sophie to a very eccentric local lady and Jamie (my bro who studying catering) complained about how she never explained ingredients or gave measurements. I might watch it again next week, I’ll decide on the day.

My late night reading

I got from the library yesterday. My gym, pool, cafe and library are all in the ame building- it’s very handy. I really have no excuses for over-due books!

recommended byΒ a fellow blogger. I’m not generally a fan of things that make me cry (except American Idol) and I cry at a LOT of things. I’m going to give it a go but if it’s too sad I’ll be giving up!

I’m going to attempt my jogging again today so skimmed this book last night before going to sleep.

Breakfast

Porridge is pretty much the same as yesterday but I forgot the flax seed, I was going on auto-pilot this morning! Mocca!!!! Needed, loved, drank!

I’m working today then off to the gym for a jogging attempt and general cardio work-out.

Did you watch Miss Dahl? What did you think?

Have a great Wednesday/ Hump day everyone!

8 Responses to “Miss Dahl . . .”

  1. Angel 31 March 24, 2010 at 8:39 am #

    I did enjoy watching it but it wasn’t very factual, it was almost just lots of shots of that kitchen (which apparently the BBC rented for a fortune) and her looking in shops. I can see the comparisions with Nigella. Its a shame because they could have really worked the healthy balance angle with it. Then again the theme for the show was selfish, so I guess I can see where they were coming from with the dishes. The peanut butter fudge sounded gorge, but I think i would instantly gain 10lbs if I ate a square of it!

    • thirtyandhealthy March 24, 2010 at 6:05 pm #

      I know what you mean- visually it was stunning and there was a lot of good music on it too, but to me it just didn’t come together. Almost cringe-worthy! Maybe I’ll just check each week to see what’s cooking, if I like it I’ll watch!

  2. foodlovingpolarbear March 24, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    Awww! I hope you enjoy the book πŸ™‚ it’s lovely. And hey, I also cry while watching American idol πŸ˜€

    • thirtyandhealthy March 24, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

      I’m going to devote a half hour to the book tonight- will keep you updated! πŸ™‚

  3. Caroline March 24, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    Your comment about crying with American Idol made me laugh as I am exactly the same! I thought I was the only. My friends all make fun of me. Glad to know I am not the only one anymore πŸ™‚

    xxx

    • thirtyandhealthy March 24, 2010 at 6:09 pm #

      haha I’ll cry at adverts! Especially at ‘that’ time of the month! I have even been known to cry when one of the kids in a class I’m teaching has a eurika moment, or passes a national test- obviously I turn my back and pretend to have an itchy eye πŸ˜‰

  4. gateauxbellehelene March 24, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    oh no I didn’t watch Sophie as I was watching Supersize vs Superskinny on the other channel. Maybe I won’t bother to watch it on iPlayer now….I did hear she was like Nigella a bit……how disappointing!

    • thirtyandhealthy March 24, 2010 at 6:07 pm #

      Hey thanks for commenting! I haven’t watched Supersize vs Superskinny since the first series and I only saw one ep (I wasn’t really so interested in nutrition then) so maybe I should watch that next week instead.

Leave a Reply

