My skirts sit on my hips

23 Mar

So yesterday afternoon I spent a happy hour (no, not drinking) trying on clothes. Not in the shops, but in my spare room. Bizzarly I keep my clothes in my spare room. I tried on some of my spring/summer clothes. I wanted to see what was still going to fit, what would not and what would fit better. It’s funny how many different fits and sizes you can get out of a size 16 label. I love skirts because you can put on, or lose, about a stone before the skirt becomes unwearable. Eat too many maltesers- skirt sits on your waist. Eat a few salads- skirt sits on your hips. Most of my jeans have been sent to the bottom drawer though as they are just too big. Luckily I bought a pair of size 14 jeans from New Look last month for £10. They will keep me going, with the skirts, till Autumn I should think.  

I decided to grap my measuring tape and find out my measurements. I only have a vague idea of what they used to be.

 Source

Chest: 40.5inches – baby got front!

Back (under bust): 29inches (I know!!!!)

Waist: 33.25inches

Hips: 42.5inches – baby don’t got back, it’s all hips unfortunately.

At one point last year I know I was 44, 34, 44. When I was 20 I was 42, 30, 42! Love my shape 🙂 Funnily I seem to be losing more from my bust and hips. I don’t mind really, I would just like to keep my shape as much as possible.

I mentioned above that the clothes that are too big for me are being kept in a ‘bottom drawer’. What do you do if something no longer fits? Keep it incase you regain, or send it to the charity shop as an incentive not to regain? I am a hoarder, but not an extreme one. Have you seen ‘How clean is your house’?? Now those people are hoarders!

Recently I have been enjoying a blog called Makeunder My Life  written by a jeweller named Jess. Every Friday Jess has what she calls ‘end of the week exfoliations’ where she tosses, donates or repurposes an item from her home. I think I am going to spend some time today ‘exfoliating’ my crap stuff.

Breakfast

I mentioned before about how I was getting too full with my 1/4 cup of oats and banana using soya milk. So today’s bowl has 3/8ths of a cup. I only have one measuring cup and it didn’t have 1/3 on it! I added a tablespoon of flax seed and a handful of grape nuts for crunch. 😀 This was a GOOD bowl of porridge.

A question for you: When clothes become too big for you (if you have lost weight) do you store the clothes? Or donate them?

Have a great Tuesday

5 Responses to “My skirts sit on my hips”

  1. Caroline March 23, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    When my clothes gets to big I give them to charity. I don’t want to be reminded of how big I was then 🙂 I have only one pair of trousers when I started this diet in January last year.

    Nice blog! 🙂

    Caroline xx

  2. Angel31@keepingslimandgettingstylish March 23, 2010 at 11:19 am #

    My humble opinion is that you must, must get shot of the old bigger clothes. If theres one thing I’ve learned with the weight loss, gain, loss, gain, and finally loss its that when something gets too big it needs to go. If you keep it, it becomes just too easy to slip back into those bigger clothes when the healthy living starts to slip. You need new clothes that fit as an indication for when you might be gaining again and to show you when your losing more. I gave a massive amount of stuff to my local charity shop last year, and yes I spent a small fortune on clothes but this is just what worked for me. It was very fustrating as I went from a size 18 down to a 10/12 that I am at the moment and I had to buy new stuff at each stage along the way, but if you have a goal size just buy cheappy stuff till you get to were you want to be. For my more expensive / just can’t bear to chuck it stuff I got some alterations done so that it did fit!

    • thirtyandhealthy March 23, 2010 at 11:26 am #

      Thank you! Your opinion means a lot because you have been in the situation yourself. I will get rid of the clothes! Slowly! My Mum is a 16 so I am hoping I will get by for a while without having to spend.

  3. Kelly March 23, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    When my close get too big I give them to charity too. I don’t want to give myself that fall back. I will not gain back the weight and that’s all there is to it 🙂

Leave a Reply

