The Flax Connundrum

22 Mar

Just to keep myself honest- last night I had 2 slices of proper bread with calories in, margarine and marmite. There was also a little malteser bunny. Maltesers used to be an everyday food for me! Love them. Loved the little bunny more. ♥

Breakfast

Usually when I’m not working, on a weekday, I get up at 7am and have breakfast incase I get a last minute call to come into a school. This morning I was woken up at 4am, by the sound of the wind. After tossing and turning for a bit I decided to turn my alarm off. I got up at 9. No phone call 🙂 Usually I love getting a call as it means a day’s pay and I do like my job, but right now I am still lacking energy after being ill.

My 9am breakfast:

It’s the usual mix but I didn’t quite finish it. This is becomming a regular occurance, the other day I only used half a banana and it still happened so I think that soya milk is just more filling than skimmed cow’s milk. It certainly has more calories and makes the porridge creamier. Tomorrow I’ll make it with 1/3C of oats instead of 1/2C.

Now I’m going to talk about flaxseed. If you, lovely reader, are not at all bothered by flax then I have prepared a short video for your entertainment.

Any non-Brits reading the dancer is Katy Brand a British comedienne. She didn’t win this dancing competition sadly (which was all for a charity called sport relief) but I thought she was the best.

Read on for some Flax related ramblings . . .

I didn’t put flax seed in today. I used to put it in everyday, but then I thought about how flax, and all seeds, are quite calorie dense. So now I only use it a couple of times a week. I know that I need good fats and protein every day but I do get these with all the flaked almonds I put on my porridge. The problem I have is that ground flax seed has quite a short shelf/fridge life.

45 days in the fridge. There is also 425g in the bag, my primary school maths calculator tells me I’d have to use 9.4g a day, about a tablespoon?

I’ve heard that the best thing to do is get a coffee/spice grinder and grind your own once a week or so. The bag above was about £6. A 500g bag of whole flaxseed is £1.49 from Holland and Barrett.

Product image showing LinseedH&B

James Martin by Wahl Mini Grinder 150W Stainless Steel ZX595£13.20 from Amazon

This site seems to have a lot of information on the subject. They say flaxseed loses its nutrients quickly after it has been ground and that we need to eat like 2 to 3 tablespoons (while whole) a day. Unmilled flax will do nothing for us as the seed will not be digested.

Does anyone use flaxseed? Do you buy it already ground or grind your own?

Have a good Monday x

 

7 Responses to “The Flax Connundrum”

  1. Angel 31 March 22, 2010 at 11:38 am #

    Wow, I have that same kind of milled flaxseed and I had no idea it had to be used up in 45 days. I wish they would make smaller packs to avoid waste when most people wouldn’t use all of that up in that time period. I’ll probably end up just using it after the 45 days if I’m honest, until I start to notice if its going a bit iffy

    • thirtyandhealthy March 22, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

      Yeah I’m doing that at the moment because I have no clue when I bought it! Think it was about a month ago. Though I had it open in the cupboard for a week before realising it had to be kept in the fridge :S Let me know if you think there are signs for it going off!

  2. Laura March 22, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    I grind my own, just in a normal smoothie blender and it gets fine enough 🙂

  3. Anne @ Food Loving Polar Bear March 22, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    I’ve never used flaxseed!

    • thirtyandhealthy March 22, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

      I hope you liked the video then! 🙂 If I start getting beautiful skin and hair from using flax I shall let you know!

  4. healthyamy March 22, 2010 at 6:35 pm #

    How funny were some of the dances on Sports Relief!

    Did you watch the actual show, it brought more than one tear to my eye.

    Smithy from Gavin and Satcey was very funny though.

Leave a Reply

