No added sugar

11 Mar

I have noticed that my eats have been on the sweet side recently. It seems every meal has at least a sugar on the side. From chocolate chips on my porridge (and a spoon-full of sugar mixed in) to fruit with my lunch. Check out yesterday’s porridge and toppings:

In the mix:

1/2 cup oats

1/2 cup skimmed milk

1/2 cup water

1 small banana

1 teaspoon brown sugar (Not to self- the colour does not change it from sugar into a superfood!)

on top:

a shed load of chocolate chips

cheerios

flaked almonds

dessicated coconut

Talk about calorific! Is there any wonder I am not losing weight?

So today I did something new:

In the mix:

1/2 cup oats

1/2 cup skimmed milk

1/2 cup water

1 small banana

On top:

flaked almonds

No Added Sugar! Well unless you count the banana? I put it in a glass bowl so it would seem like more and it did. I was left satisfied. 🙂 Notice I still had the sugary mocca? One thing at a time people! Well, I say one thing at a time but I am also hoping to take care of my diet pepsi problem. More on that later.

The porridge plan (I like me a bit of alliteration):

Porridge is not to be sweetened with anything but fruit 6 days a week.

Just to be special I can have choc chips on my porridge once a week- probably Sunday.

Have a good Thursday people 🙂

3 Responses to “No added sugar”

  1. Anne March 11, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    My problem is that I don’t like diet sodas but the real stuff.. but after finding Bionade I haven’t bought ANY soda in 2 weeks (I was seriously hooked on canned coca-cola)! 😀

  2. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self March 11, 2010 at 4:30 pm #

    I definitely struggle with limiting added sugars. I don’t worry about the natural sugars in fruit, but refined and added sugars add up fast! Thanks for the reminder that I need to watch my intake a bit more. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. camera shy « Thirty and Healthy - April 8, 2010

    […] also had a coffee. Remember when I used to drink those 100calorie moccas every morning? I have cut right down and usually just have a coffee with milk and 1 and a half brown […]

Leave a Reply

