Roasted vegetables

20 Sep

I love roasted veg. This is a great thing because until early this year I really struggled to like many vegetables. I still don’t like mushrooms, tomatoes or broccoli. I’m not a fan of cabbage and I think boiled potatoes are nasty. But I do like some roasted courgette, onion and peppers.

DSCN3318

Today I made Sarah’s Roasted vegetable and quinoa salad. It was really good!

DSCN3323  Sarah’s blog is pretty new to me and I’m looking forward to trying more of her recipes.

Today I have been lying low because I have a niggly sore throat. It’s not too painful but I live in fear of tonsillitis as I used to get it twice a year. I actually haven’t had it in about a year and a half which I am so happy about! Lots of fruit and veg for me over the next couple of days. Is there anything anyone else takes when they start to feel ill? I have had some orange juice and lots of water today too.

I have also been reading The girl who played with fire. I am obsessed with these books!

What books/t.v./new music are you obsessed with right now?

12 Responses to “Roasted vegetables”

  1. Laura@keepingslimandgettingstylish September 20, 2010 at 6:41 pm #

    I was really enjoying ‘must be the music’ on Sky 1 I love Emmas Imagination. Your roast veggies look very tasty, I love roast veggies in a wrap with hummus, yum!

  2. Anne@ Food Loving Polar Bear September 20, 2010 at 7:38 pm #

    I hope you don’t get properly sick! I usually stuff my face with fruits, especially oranges and mandarines when I’m feeling like getting sick. Sometimes it helps, sometimes not.I think it’s more a mental thing :)

    Gorgeous veggies! I’m so in love with roasted vegetables.. I love them with whole wheat pasta. Just recently I made some with ginger, I recommend! I didn’t post about them, but maybe I’ll do them soon again :)

  3. Laura September 20, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

    I love roasted veg, have you tried roasting brocoli? You might like it that way, or you might not! Hope your throat feels better soon

  4. leashieloo September 20, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

    I LOVE roasted veggies! Sometimes, it’s the only way I can eat certain types. Something about roasting makes them a million times better.

  5. Angela (the diet book junkie) September 21, 2010 at 2:18 am #

    yes, get that vitamin c, girl! (kiwi fruit has even more than oranges, btw!) hope you’re feeling better soon:)

    i need to start reading that series, everyone keeps saying how addictive it is!

  6. Hotchoc26 September 21, 2010 at 5:53 am #

    Mmmmm roasted veg. I alsolutely adore roasted butternut squash too!

    I’m so into Jodie Picoult books and I really milke Marian Keyes – girlie stuff!

    I hope you feel much better today xxx

    • thirtyandhealthy September 21, 2010 at 8:46 am #

      I adore Marian Keyes too. I have read all her books and sit and wait for the new ones like a drug-addict waiting for my next fix!

  7. Alison September 21, 2010 at 7:12 am #

    Roasted veggies + quinoa = dinner win! Plus a good defence against a cold, we hope :)

    I’m staying away from those Stieg Larsson books – everyone I know who reads them gets totally overtaken for the duration!

    Make sure you get lots of good quality sleep. That’s when your body fights the lurgy!

  8. Sarah @Gluten-free tries Vegan September 21, 2010 at 7:24 am #

    Thanks for the shout out and I’m glad you liked the recipe :) It’s a good basic one, methinks. Hope you feel better soon! xxx

  9. Hannah September 22, 2010 at 1:01 am #

    Have you tried roasted broccoli? Dear heavens I love it when it gets almost-burnt crispy at the edges :)

    So those books are worth a read? Sometimes I get turned off pop cultural items when there’s so much hype around them…

  10. Tamizn September 22, 2010 at 1:10 pm #

    Sorry to hear you have a sore throat, basically if I feel like I’m getting under the weather I take 2000mg of vitamin C every 4/6 hours that kills whatever the bug is in about a day! Plus you can’t actually overdose on Vit C the only symptom is diarrhea and if that happens you just lower the dose! It works for me x x x

  11. Joslyn @ missfitbliss September 22, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    It sucks that you don’t feel well! I do the same thing as you, just do my best to eat lots of fruits and veggies – especially those chocked with vitamin c.

    I also drink a lot of “Emergen-C” powder. Or zinc lozenges. They’re NASTY but get the job done;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

